Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Perfect crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Florgeline Cuizon
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
SUPER! i almost cried with happiness when i got to taste my first try of this recipe! i did add about 3/4 cups of white sugar just before i roll it to make my strawberry tarts perfect! so so love this recipe, i got it perfect since i am from the Philippines and the humidity is great for baking especially when you bake before lunch time until late afternoon.. i made 3 dozens of tarts out of these.. >",
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florgeline Cuizon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very good, fairly easy to do. People at my table liked it but unfortunately I do not like the taste/texture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eclipse777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I'm not a baker - we rarely eat sweets - but I needed to make a pie (two pies, actually) and the raves about this one were very convincing so I tried it. It is truly excellent. I practically beat it to death and I was so scared I'd ruined it, but it came out lovely. It does only make roughly enough for just over 3 single crusts, but that's all I needed. I used unsalted butter with no ill effect (the thought of "vegetable shortening" is not one I can personally deal with). I made sure to use ice water and I refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours before I needed to use it. It was quite stiff when I rolled it out. Lovely flavor, tender, crispy, flaky. If I have any complaint it is that it seemed to take a bit long to brown up. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a delicious pie crust! I rarely use all the liquids. I think the size of egg you use makes the difference in the amount of liquid added and has to be adjusted accordingly. I use 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup shortening. When I am making a fruit pie, I add 2 tablespoons of sugar. You can brush the top of the crust with the leftover egg before baking in the oven. I bake the pie in a 425 oven for 10 minutes then turn the temperature down to 350 for the remaining baking time to avoid overcooking the edges. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This crust was GREAT! Flaky and delicious! I made it with Pecan Pie, and everyone at Thanksgiving dinner loved it and wanted me to make it again for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this without reading the reviews first. My pie crust came out nice and flaky. Then I decided to read some reviews. I agree that this will make for an awesome pot pie. If you plan on using this for dessert pies, I suggest reducing or omitting the salt, and rather, sprinkle sugar on it before baking. Also, I used Crisco butter flavored shortening at room temperature. It's very hot and humid here, so after I cut the ingredients together and rolled it, I had to put it in the freezer for a few minutes so that it would not break when I put it the pan. For those who are having trouble with the dough, just remember that temp/humidity affects the dough. Slowly add the liquid portion to the mix...if your dough is too sticky, try adding a bit more flour, slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Premmie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe because of the rave reviews. I am an experienced pie baker and I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I think next time I will try adding a sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
perfect as written, I do chill the dough sometimes for 24 hrs,Very tasty crust.Follow directions and you won't be dissapointed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States