Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Very flaky. You really need to use a chain inside the shell to keep it from puffing up so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I had this recipe a while ago and my dad just loved it with apple pie. It's a hardy crust. Flaky, but not as tender as other crusts. Still, it's a nice crust for heartier fillings like chicken pot pie. Who says you can't have more than one crust recipe? I have one for sweet fillings, another for traditional pies, another for tarts, and yes, this one is for my chicken pot pies! It is a little wet if you add all the liquid. I refrigerated it before rolling to stiffen it and let it rest for a more flakiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I have ruined every single pie crust I have ever tried to make...except this one! ELEVEN YEARS of miserable failures that had become a family joke are ended! WOOHOO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
That's a keeper! I tried the recipe yesterday and I was very pleased. I didn't have shortening on hand and used 1 cup frozen butter instead of 1 1/4 C. shortening, but that was the only change I made. I has a nice buttery flavor and flaky consistency. I cut the frozen butter into chunks and used the food processor. Then I split the dough and chilled it for 3 hours. It was easy and velvety smooth to roll out. I did not prebake it and I will definetly use it again. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I have never been a pie baker until now! Thank you so much for such a great recipe! My kids eat the whole pie now because of the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This is the easiest and most wonderfully flaky crust recipe! If you don't have tome to refrigerate it, put it in the freezer for a small amount of time. It works fine that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Good recipe. It was a tad sticky for me...not that bad though. I thought the vinegar would make it taste strange but unless you knew it was in there, you couldn't taste it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Great pie crust. I doubled it for a two crust deep dish pie, you don't need to double the water/egg/vinegar mixture since you don't need it all. I used regular all purpose flour and it was still great. I was concerned when I rolled it out because I could see some chunks of butter in the dough (thought I did not mix it enough), but it baked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
One word...Excellent Almost foolproof Very tender and flaky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
This is a great recipe. My crust was very gooey! But I simply rolled it out between two peices of wax paper and easily tranferred it to my pie pan. When the crust was cooked, it was buttery...flaky...and very very good. Note: I added about two tablespoons of sugar to mine to give the crust an extra sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States