Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
THIS IS MY FIRST TIME TO MAKE A PIE CRUST AND THIS RECIPE WAS THE RIGHT ONE TO KEEP ME GOING. VERY FLAKY AND EASY TO MAKE. THANK YOU FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
The best pie crust I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This recipe is WONDERFUL! After tasting my pie, my very picky, very wise connoisseur-of-a-father said, "This pie is PERFECT!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This is THE recipe for pie crust!!!! I have made this dozens of times since finding it and each time I get PERFECT pie crust!!! For those who are having trouble with this recipe: Measure carefully, Add liquids SLOWLY and only enough to form a ball at the most. For those who are throwing the leftover pie crust away: Lay out flat on cookie sheet, spray with cooking spray, and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar, cut into bars or squares and bake at same temp as recipe till golden. My dad calls these "pie-crust cookies" and accuses me of trying to make him fat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was AWESOME! I made it for a quiche and can't wait to try it with other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Working at a fire station, I can't afford to make a mistake with anything that I cook. I used this crust with a peach cobbler. I turned out fantastic. It browned evenly and had some good rise to it. It tasted even better. Incredibly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Excellent! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I found a keeper!! Still can't believe how good this recipe is. I substituted the shortening with 1/2 margarine and 1/2 shortening. The crust was flakey and tender and "picture perfect". I chilled the shortening before use and chilled the dough for one hour before rolling it out. I even froze 2 rolled out crusts and they came out perfect! If you can't make a decent pie crust, try this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This has been my favorite pie crust recipe for years but I now make it with egg substitute - 1/4 cup - instead of the egg. It cuts about 75 calories and over 200mg cholesterol from the crust. It works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
We had our Thanksgiving yesterday, and I used this recipe for my pumkin pie. I used part lard and part crisco. It turned out very nice. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States