Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was AWESOME! I made it for a quiche and can't wait to try it with other things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Working at a fire station, I can't afford to make a mistake with anything that I cook. I used this crust with a peach cobbler. I turned out fantastic. It browned evenly and had some good rise to it. It tasted even better. Incredibly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Excellent! Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I found a keeper!! Still can't believe how good this recipe is. I substituted the shortening with 1/2 margarine and 1/2 shortening. The crust was flakey and tender and "picture perfect". I chilled the shortening before use and chilled the dough for one hour before rolling it out. I even froze 2 rolled out crusts and they came out perfect! If you can't make a decent pie crust, try this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This has been my favorite pie crust recipe for years but I now make it with egg substitute - 1/4 cup - instead of the egg. It cuts about 75 calories and over 200mg cholesterol from the crust. It works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
We had our Thanksgiving yesterday, and I used this recipe for my pumkin pie. I used part lard and part crisco. It turned out very nice. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This is the perfect pie crust recipe!I'm 15 and love baking,but I always hated making pies because my crusts were always hard to work with and didn't turn out very good.I used this recipe last night and it was PERFECT!Easy to handle,no holes and very flaky when baked.This is now my permanent pie crust recipe.Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
The most delicious, light, flaky pastry I have ever made for my pies - and that's saying something! I made it with butter, as usual, and YUM! For the flakiest pastry, stop cutting in the shortening when it is about the size of a pea, no finer. People who say the recipe didn't work for them, please remember that there are many variables when adding liquid to flour: eggs aren't all the same size, and the humidity of the day will affect how much of the liquid mixture the flour will need. Cut in the liquid a bit at a time, be patient, and when the dough comes together, just stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This is a great crust-its the same receipe as on the back of Crisco in Canada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFORWARDING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This is a great pie crust! I've been using it for about 20 years! I do use 5 Tablespoons of ICE water though, but that's the only difference. I typically get 3+ crusts from it. Flakey and delicious! My dh says it IS as good or better than his mothers! Can't have a better compliment than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States