Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This pie crust did taste good, however I think it takes some tweaking to get the dough right. I did chill it and I still had problems with it sticking and or breaking. Thanks for the recipe though my company enjoyed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMAREK50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the first pie crust I've made that actually came out, tasted great, rolled out easy and finally worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elkins, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
HELP! This recipe sounds great. I want to use it for a pecan pie and the recipe for that says to use an unbaked pie crust. Can I use this recipe and just not bake it first as directed? Can I use it unbaked? I don't want to mess it up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Good, but I'll save five stars for another attempt. It is just a little bit flavorless - I used regular shortening this time and will try with butter or butter flavored shortening next time. I rolled mine out, cut circles and placed them on the outside/upside down side of muffin tins to make shallow tart shells - I was able to make 24 shells plus have the pie scraps for cinnamon/sugar treats! (Note to those of you who say you used butter flavored shortening and it was too wet - that shortening has a higher moisture content than no-flavor, so you need to use less water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I was given this recipe by a young woman at church that made an apple pie there. She used butter instead of shortening and it was INCREDIBLE. Best crust I have ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tie Dye John
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Fantastic! I will never buy another pre-made crust. This is so flaky it melts in your mouth. Thank you from a happy pie baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
OK, I just must admit this is a better pie crust recipe than the one I have been using for 40 years. It is also very easy to handle. Made an ample amount for 3 single crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is the best pie crust recipe on this website. Way better than the basic flaky crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Excellent results and easy! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Very easy to make and I liked the fact that you did not have to refrigerate it. Followed directions exactly and was not sticky at all. Thanks Felicia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 101-110 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States