Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I used this recipe while making my first pie crust. It was simple to make and I had no difficulty rolling the dough. It also baked very well and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
My opinion may be premature, but I was disappointed with the final results. I must admit I needed 6 pie shells and tripled the recipe without adjusting any ingredients. I guess the lesson learned from this is, if you need more than 2 pie shells, consider using another recipe. My curiosty was peaked after reading the high reviews posted with this recipe. My Mother was a pastry chef and I learned my crust making abilities from her. I will continue to use the process learned from my Mother's hands, love and knowledge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This crust came out perfect!!! My family loved the flavor of my blueberry pie. I had to add a little more water when rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I read all 100 plus reviews and the main thing I came up with was that chilling the dough for an hour helps. I also used a food processor to cut in the butter which I used instead of shortening. I didnt have to use as much liquid as stated. I added a little bit at a time. After chilling the dough still seemed quite soft and I thought it was goin to be hard to work with but it wasn't. My aunt (walking cookbook and great pastry maker) has tried for years to bring my pastry up from just passable and failed. After eating a quiche made with this my dad said I'll tell Aunty Ellen you've finally made it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
No one commented on the crust when I made this recently. I did change things a little. I used salted butter instead of shorting, added 1tsp of sugar for sweetness and dash of cinnamon. However, it was fairly unremarkable. It was better than store bought crusts but not a highlight for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This pie crust did taste good, however I think it takes some tweaking to get the dough right. I did chill it and I still had problems with it sticking and or breaking. Thanks for the recipe though my company enjoyed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McClaughry Marek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the first pie crust I've made that actually came out, tasted great, rolled out easy and finally worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elkins, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
HELP! This recipe sounds great. I want to use it for a pecan pie and the recipe for that says to use an unbaked pie crust. Can I use this recipe and just not bake it first as directed? Can I use it unbaked? I don't want to mess it up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Good, but I'll save five stars for another attempt. It is just a little bit flavorless - I used regular shortening this time and will try with butter or butter flavored shortening next time. I rolled mine out, cut circles and placed them on the outside/upside down side of muffin tins to make shallow tart shells - I was able to make 24 shells plus have the pie scraps for cinnamon/sugar treats! (Note to those of you who say you used butter flavored shortening and it was too wet - that shortening has a higher moisture content than no-flavor, so you need to use less water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I was given this recipe by a young woman at church that made an apple pie there. She used butter instead of shortening and it was INCREDIBLE. Best crust I have ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tie Dye John

Displaying results 101-110 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States