Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made it my ninja! Love that it isn't so sweet , really allowed the filling to carry the flavor with this crust acting as a smooth bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Turned out nice. Needs a little salt for my taste. Added an egg wash to the top with some kosher salt. Made with Chicken Pot Pie. Oh, Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoastalOne
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Amazing! The best crust I have ever made, or tasted for that matter. Read all the reviews and followed the tips. I only swapped out 1/4 c. of shortening for butter for extra taste. In my case even after taking it out of the frig to roll out it was very crumbly but it came together once I dusted with more flour. I used it for the bottom and top of my home made chicken pot pie. The crust definitely made the recipe. Save this one to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoastalOne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've used this recipe for over 40 years with only a few minor changes. #1 I only use lard for pie crusts and Vodka for the ice water. Always flakey and perfect. The vodka cooks out with baking and leaves the best crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Matteson, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Easy to mix and roll out. Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha Gilman
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Best recipe ever! Chilling the dough definitely helps. It makes an easy-to-work with pie crust that is firm enough to cut yet delightfully flaky. I chilled my dough about 20-30 minutes, and it did the trick. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Gilman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used coconut shortening and rice vinegar since that is what I had, and you will not believe how great those ingredients work in this crust! I was in a pinch and needed a crust in a hurry, and this recipe did it, thanks! Try the ingredients I mentioned too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I doubled the recipe, used 1c chilled shortening, 1 1/2 c chilled butter. Also used apple cider vinegar because I don't have white. I needed an extra 4 T ice water, but my climate is very dry right now. Chilled the dough in the refrigerator before rolling it out, let it rest in my tins in the refrigerator after draping it in them. I made 2, double crust pies and had enough leftover for a single crust pie as well. Cut into strips for a lattice on one of the pies, the dough handled very well, didn't tear or break apart. The crust was flaky, flavorful and tender, everything I hoped for! The butter let it brown nicely, I did need to foil the rims halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States