Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I read all 100 plus reviews and the main thing I came up with was that chilling the dough for an hour helps. I also used a food processor to cut in the butter which I used instead of shortening. I didnt have to use as much liquid as stated. I added a little bit at a time. After chilling the dough still seemed quite soft and I thought it was goin to be hard to work with but it wasn't. My aunt (walking cookbook and great pastry maker) has tried for years to bring my pastry up from just passable and failed. After eating a quiche made with this my dad said I'll tell Aunty Ellen you've finally made it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
The most delicious, light, flaky pastry I have ever made for my pies - and that's saying something! I made it with butter, as usual, and YUM! For the flakiest pastry, stop cutting in the shortening when it is about the size of a pea, no finer. People who say the recipe didn't work for them, please remember that there are many variables when adding liquid to flour: eggs aren't all the same size, and the humidity of the day will affect how much of the liquid mixture the flour will need. Cut in the liquid a bit at a time, be patient, and when the dough comes together, just stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This is the REAL thing-I should know I've been making pies for almost 40 years. I use a food processor for 'cutting' the shortening in-then mix in the liquid by hand-you have better control that way-and you won't overmix and make the crust tough..... The results are spectacular-flaky, tender and easy to roll-even for the beginner. Do agree with other reviewers-refrigerating the dough an hour or more always makes it easier to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I confess... For years I have bought the frozed pie crusts at the stores because of a few fail attempts. If it had a top crust, I didn't make it. And I love to bake and love a challenge, so why I did this for so long I cannot say. So I used this wonderful site and all of your tips, and with this recipe I made an amazing crust. Could not have turned out better. Here are the tips I followed: 1. Chill the bowl and the fat. 2. Do not "over-cut" the fat into the flour mix. You want some lumps-they make it flakey. 3.Chill the dough again while you make your filling. 4. MOST HELPFUL FOR ME: Roll the dough out ONCE and do so in between two sheets of wax paper. Remove one sheet and line up on pie plate, push into place and remove second sheet. Do not be afraid of pie crust like I was for way too long. These tips really ease the process and give wonderful results. No more tough dough stuck to the counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
If you have ever had trouble with pie crust this recipe is for you! I used butter flavored Crisco and had no trouble at all. I chilled the dough and rolled it between two pieced of wax paper and it came out beautifully. I would definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This is THE recipe for pie crust!!!! I have made this dozens of times since finding it and each time I get PERFECT pie crust!!! For those who are having trouble with this recipe: Measure carefully, Add liquids SLOWLY and only enough to form a ball at the most. For those who are throwing the leftover pie crust away: Lay out flat on cookie sheet, spray with cooking spray, and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar, cut into bars or squares and bake at same temp as recipe till golden. My dad calls these "pie-crust cookies" and accuses me of trying to make him fat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
While I do love lard or butter in pie crusts, I used none of either. After all, I chose a shortening pie crust recipe and thought it only fair to the recipe and its submitter to prepare it as written. And it was perfect. This crust is SO tender and flaky! Heck, it flakes as you CUT it it's so flaky! Simply a beautiful crust and if basic pie crust techniques are followed you will have no problems. This will be one of those rare pie crusts where none is left behind on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I use lard (1 cup only) and make sure it is well chilled before using....I use my food processor and it comes together in a perfect ball which I can use right away....the trick to this crust is you want it chilled (not cold) but room temp. dough will give you fits. I get 3 crusts out of this recipe and it freezes beautifully for later use. This one is truly a "no brainer"...thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOPIEKITTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I have had wonderful results with this recipe. Over the last few months I have made a couple of additions though. Add about 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon to the flour along with the salt. Increase the water to 5 1/2 tbsp. Then, after baking, just sprinle some granulated white sugar on top after brushing with an egg white. Awesome results!!! Even for the recreational baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Simplicity best describes this pastry. It was easy to make, rolled out and handled well, and was flaky, light and rich. A Perfect Five.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States