Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I confess... For years I have bought the frozed pie crusts at the stores because of a few fail attempts. If it had a top crust, I didn't make it. And I love to bake and love a challenge, so why I did this for so long I cannot say. So I used this wonderful site and all of your tips, and with this recipe I made an amazing crust. Could not have turned out better. Here are the tips I followed: 1. Chill the bowl and the fat. 2. Do not "over-cut" the fat into the flour mix. You want some lumps-they make it flakey. 3.Chill the dough again while you make your filling. 4. MOST HELPFUL FOR ME: Roll the dough out ONCE and do so in between two sheets of wax paper. Remove one sheet and line up on pie plate, push into place and remove second sheet. Do not be afraid of pie crust like I was for way too long. These tips really ease the process and give wonderful results. No more tough dough stuck to the counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Fool-proof! Every time I make this crust it turns out light and flaky. Even when I'm too lazy to roll it out and just pat into the pan instead! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I love this recipe! I just added enough of the liquid to make it hold together and 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup shortning made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very Tasty and Flaky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I only gave this 3 stars because it's a little bland as is. I made a few changes and now it's a 5 star recipe. I used a stick of softened butter and a 3/4 cup of shortening instead of the 1-1/4 cups of shortening. I also increased the salt to 1-1/2 tsp. This is perfect for meat pies or dessert pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was my first attempt at making homemade pie crust by myself, so maybe that has something to do with the difficulty I had working with it. It was difficult to roll out and almost impossible to maneuver into the pie plate. I did a lattice top and it was pretty brittle and I had to be very careful with it. I was skeptical of how it was going to turn out, but boy was I surprised. It was delicious and very flaky! Everyone loved it. I will definitely make it again, but read the reviews of this recipe again to see if anyone has some tips on making it easier to handle. This crust was awesome with Grandma Ople's Apple Pie recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I substitued slightly softened butter for the shortening to reduce trans fats. Use this recipe for every crust you need--savory fillings or sweet. I had enough for two shells. I used one for a key lime pie, and one for a meat caserole the next week (it froze well in the pie plate, and I put it right from the freezer to the oven, then filled).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Best tasting pie crust that I've ever made. It looked like an inept 2nd grader rolled it out, but that was my problem..not the recipe! Definitely refrigerate before rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was my first pie crust ever, so some of this is probably my fault. I had a few issues with rolling it out/sticking, and then it broke apart on me a bit. I managed to tack on some dough-bandages. The taste was a bit too much like shortening, so next time I may use 1/2 butter and shortening, or all butter. Over all, I would recommend this for us poor novice bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and it usually comes out. I will be the first to say that pie crust is an art. Still don't feel confident about my skills with it but this recipe is pretty good at helping that. Used to make a berry pie and shepards pie before-all good. Would not call this the perfect crust recipe-but it is the one I have used several times-still keeping my eye out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States