Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
While I do love lard or butter in pie crusts, I used none of either. After all, I chose a shortening pie crust recipe and thought it only fair to the recipe and its submitter to prepare it as written. And it was perfect. This crust is SO tender and flaky! Heck, it flakes as you CUT it it's so flaky! Simply a beautiful crust and if basic pie crust techniques are followed you will have no problems. This will be one of those rare pie crusts where none is left behind on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe produced the best, flakiest pie crust I have ever made, and I've made a lot of pie crusts! I did use butter instead of shortening because I don't like shortening. The butter was hard cold (nearly frozen) and I only cut it in until the size of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is the best pie crust, and really easy to make. I also added some cinnamon & sugar to the flour mix, to add a bit of sweetness! Yum! I always make this with Grandma's Apple Pie you can also find on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Wow! This recipe is excellent. The texture was great to work with and although I wasn't really sure what to make of the vinegar I'm glad that I didn't chicken out because otherwise I would have missed out on this great discovery. It was flaky and delicious. Thank you Felicia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This crust recipe is the best I have ever made. It was flawless. Super easy to make, perfect consistency. Tastes amazing. I didn't alter the recipe at all and had no problems!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was my first pie crust, and hallelujah, I'm so glad I did some researching. This recipe rocked and turned out perfectly. (Well, the first time didnt, because I didnt have the wisdom to know how much water was enough... and added too little, making a sand crust, LOL) I tried it in the food processor and couldnt get it to work right, so I actually had better luck with the pastry blender... had no trouble at all rolling it out, and made a beautiful lattice with it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Really good texture. For dessert pie try less salt and a little sugar. Perfect as is for a pot pie crust or quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I would give this a five out of five, but the crust was incredibly crumbly and hard to work with. However, I just added some more water and flour until it got to the right consistency. The crust turned out beautifully after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This recipe is just like the one my grandma used. It's nice and flaky, and tastes great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This pie crust is soo good it's the only one I use with nearly all my pie recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States