Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe is simple and does make a flakey crust but it tastes awful!! All you taste is flour. I thought with Cherry filling it would be all right but it wasn't.. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Good crust but hard to roll out, a little sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Perfect! I used all butter instead of shortening, chilled, and cut into the flour mixture. I also added 2 tsp. of sugar to the dough mixture for a little sweetness. I slowly added ice cold water, a little at a time, mixed into the dough until it came together nicely. The chilling of the dough really helped! After I chilled the dough, about an hour, I rolled it between two pieces of wax paper with no problems. The dough was soft and real easy to roll out-even for a beginner like myself. The results were a wonderfully-flaky and tender crust. The crust baked up nicely and formed a pretty light golden color. The crust tastes light and just absolutely delicious! It was simply a beautiful crust and I was impressed with myself. This will be one of those pie crust recipes I don’t want to lose! I used this crust for, “Perfect Pumpkin Pie,” also from this website. A perfect pie crust that I plan on using again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Perfect!!! It is hands down the best recipe for pie crust I have ever tried, and I have tried a lot of them. I will never look again. Thank you Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I was a little irritated when I realized I had to make my pie crust by hand, as it's usually so quick to do in a food processor, but I'm in the middle of moving and it was packed. HOWEVER, this was so simple! And the results were amazing! I ran a little short on the shortening, so I subbed in lard for 1/3 of it. I've had this thing of lard in my pantry for far too long--my mom swore it made the best pie crust, but I don't make many pies... and now I was able to use it. Blabbering but Wow this was so easy, so flaky, so tender... I think I may have a new go-to recipe! Used as the pastry for Mrs. Siggs Pumpkin Pie. I am so proud of this pie!!--Update 1/30: Used crust recipe to make savory pop tarts (egg, bacon, cheese). Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
What an awesome pie crust. I always use pie crust to make the shell because I have to - I never eat the crust. I tried this one and now I know when I make this recipe I won't have to appear finicky every again. It was easy to make, easy to roll out and easy to eat! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
My mom first used this as a bride in 1940. I have used it since 1968. Now my kids and grands use it also. Fool proof and if you mess up just roll it over again. It comes out light and flakey every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Slack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe was complete fail for me. I followed it to the "T". As soon as I started to roll it, it fell apart, cracked. Definitely will not use this recipe again. I'll go back to my NO FAIL recipe that I got from my husband's grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I can make this in my sleep! I worked selling homemade pies at a market for 4 summers and this was my secret weapon. 864 pies in a span of 6 months sold can't be wrong! It has been a little kitchen temperature sensitive so if it doesn't turn out right the first time, give it another go in a warmer kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
PERFECT crust! I folled the recipe exactly and it came out great..my dad is picky about his crusts and he loved this one! Not only is it nice and flaky but has a great flavor. I will definitely be using this recipe for any crusts from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States