Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Spot on a great recipe! Rolls out cleanly and freezes fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROXI3ROX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
For the first time in my life I actually had a pie crust turn out without being a soggy mess. I removed one star because it's rather tasteless. I'm not really sure how to fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very good recipe. I used it to make a double crust pie and it came together very nicely and tasted great too. I rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper so that it wouldn't stick to anything and I didn't have to throw flour all over my counter. I found the cutting in process to be much easier using two forks. And for anyone who, like me, may not be very experienced with shortening, I found out that your shortening should be chilled to be cut in, but doesn't need to be solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I made this yesterday for an apple pie contest and won 1st place. The judges commented on how light and flaky the crust was. I followed the directions, and also took the advice to chill the dough. It worked out perfectly and I will never try another dough recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
If you have ever had trouble with pie crust this recipe is for you! I used butter flavored Crisco and had no trouble at all. I chilled the dough and rolled it between two pieced of wax paper and it came out beautifully. I would definitely use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
SUPER EASY and turns out great. This is my go to pie crust recipe. I've forgotten to pre-bake and it still turned out well. It's bland, but flakey and good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I am not sure what I did wrong with this recipe, but it didn't come out very good at all! I followed it exactly as written, except that I substituted half of the shortening with butter. I also needed to add one extra tablespoon of water to get the dough to come together. I was making it for a chicken pot pie, so I stuck the dough in the fridge while I cooked up the rest of the ingredients. There was no problem rolling out the dough. It looked really pretty and for a moment I had high hopes for it. But when it came out of the oven, the bottom crust was all soggy and doughy. The top crust was nice and crisp, though I have to say that the flavor was completely unremarkable. I was hoping for something buttery and flaky. Instead it tasted like baked homemade play dough. I was so disappointed after all that work to make a chicken pot pie from scratch! At dinner time everyone ended up picking around the crust and only eating the chicken and vegetables. Even my dog wouldn't eat the crust, so it all ended up in the trash bin. I'm sorry but I definitely will not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Almost exactly the same recipe as my Grandmother passed down. Easy to work with, great taste and extremely flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
While I do love lard or butter in pie crusts, I used none of either. After all, I chose a shortening pie crust recipe and thought it only fair to the recipe and its submitter to prepare it as written. And it was perfect. This crust is SO tender and flaky! Heck, it flakes as you CUT it it's so flaky! Simply a beautiful crust and if basic pie crust techniques are followed you will have no problems. This will be one of those rare pie crusts where none is left behind on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe produced the best, flakiest pie crust I have ever made, and I've made a lot of pie crusts! I did use butter instead of shortening because I don't like shortening. The butter was hard cold (nearly frozen) and I only cut it in until the size of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States