Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I used this pie crust for a chicken pot pie and it was killer! But next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dallas Waldon
Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We almost gave up on this recipe, even after chilling in the refrigerator because it didn't come out as "pretty" as expected. We rolled between 2 pieces of wax paper (which was a great tip!) and added more water. It turned out nice, surprisingly. We used it with the Beef Pot Pie III on allrecipes. It is the PERFECT pie crust for pot pie! Daddy had to have some right away! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Perfect crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Florgeline Cuizon
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
SUPER! i almost cried with happiness when i got to taste my first try of this recipe! i did add about 3/4 cups of white sugar just before i roll it to make my strawberry tarts perfect! so so love this recipe, i got it perfect since i am from the Philippines and the humidity is great for baking especially when you bake before lunch time until late afternoon.. i made 3 dozens of tarts out of these.. >",
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florgeline Cuizon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very good, fairly easy to do. People at my table liked it but unfortunately I do not like the taste/texture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eclipse777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I'm not a baker - we rarely eat sweets - but I needed to make a pie (two pies, actually) and the raves about this one were very convincing so I tried it. It is truly excellent. I practically beat it to death and I was so scared I'd ruined it, but it came out lovely. It does only make roughly enough for just over 3 single crusts, but that's all I needed. I used unsalted butter with no ill effect (the thought of "vegetable shortening" is not one I can personally deal with). I made sure to use ice water and I refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours before I needed to use it. It was quite stiff when I rolled it out. Lovely flavor, tender, crispy, flaky. If I have any complaint it is that it seemed to take a bit long to brown up. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a delicious pie crust! I rarely use all the liquids. I think the size of egg you use makes the difference in the amount of liquid added and has to be adjusted accordingly. I use 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup shortening. When I am making a fruit pie, I add 2 tablespoons of sugar. You can brush the top of the crust with the leftover egg before baking in the oven. I bake the pie in a 425 oven for 10 minutes then turn the temperature down to 350 for the remaining baking time to avoid overcooking the edges. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This crust was GREAT! Flaky and delicious! I made it with Pecan Pie, and everyone at Thanksgiving dinner loved it and wanted me to make it again for Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this without reading the reviews first. My pie crust came out nice and flaky. Then I decided to read some reviews. I agree that this will make for an awesome pot pie. If you plan on using this for dessert pies, I suggest reducing or omitting the salt, and rather, sprinkle sugar on it before baking. Also, I used Crisco butter flavored shortening at room temperature. It's very hot and humid here, so after I cut the ingredients together and rolled it, I had to put it in the freezer for a few minutes so that it would not break when I put it the pan. For those who are having trouble with the dough, just remember that temp/humidity affects the dough. Slowly add the liquid portion to the mix...if your dough is too sticky, try adding a bit more flour, slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaprem Proeung

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I tried this recipe because of the rave reviews. I am an experienced pie baker and I did not care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States