Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used coconut shortening and rice vinegar since that is what I had, and you will not believe how great those ingredients work in this crust! I was in a pinch and needed a crust in a hurry, and this recipe did it, thanks! Try the ingredients I mentioned too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I doubled the recipe, used 1c chilled shortening, 1 1/2 c chilled butter. Also used apple cider vinegar because I don't have white. I needed an extra 4 T ice water, but my climate is very dry right now. Chilled the dough in the refrigerator before rolling it out, let it rest in my tins in the refrigerator after draping it in them. I made 2, double crust pies and had enough leftover for a single crust pie as well. Cut into strips for a lattice on one of the pies, the dough handled very well, didn't tear or break apart. The crust was flaky, flavorful and tender, everything I hoped for! The butter let it brown nicely, I did need to foil the rims halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
LOVED IT!!!! I have ALWAYS been awful at making pie crust. I'm a excellent bread maker though. THIS PIE CRUST IS PHENOMINAL! I followed the recipe exactly except substituting 1/8 cup of the shortening for real butter. Also, put your butter AND shortening in the freezer for an hour or so until hardened. DO NOT OVER MIX your flour/shortening mixture. You need to have small chunks of shortening and butter for flaky pie crust!!! Separate your dough into two balls. Freeze for 15 minutes prior to rolling out. Roll out each ball in between wax paper. I made a Chicken Pot Pie from my own filling recipe. I will be posting it on AllRecipes.com as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Nice and moist so far...I used my kitchen aid with my dough hook....I rolled it between parchment paper on the bottom and plastic wrap on top...off to roll out dough for second pie =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
perfect pie crust, ive you dont want it such flaky add 1 egg and 1/2 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Perfect pie crust, light and flaky. This is the only pie crust recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This recipe is delicious. My father and brother LOVE IT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
wow. suprisingly easy to roll out. i'm a junior high school student and i didn't have any problem with this recipe. this came out great. will make it again next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yumna alya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Depok, Jawa Barat, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I used this pie crust for a chicken pot pie and it was killer! But next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dallas Waldon
Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We almost gave up on this recipe, even after chilling in the refrigerator because it didn't come out as "pretty" as expected. We rolled between 2 pieces of wax paper (which was a great tip!) and added more water. It turned out nice, surprisingly. We used it with the Beef Pot Pie III on allrecipes. It is the PERFECT pie crust for pot pie! Daddy had to have some right away! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States