Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I usually find that "easier" pie crusts end up with the taste and texture of store bought crusts. This recipe does the trick though! It is so easy to put together, stays together when you roll it out super thin and flakes beautifully once baked. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Easy to make although i found it a bit wet. I added more flour and it ended up perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I wanted to make my own crust and saw that this one had lots of ratings. I was actually dissapointed. It was very hard to work with. I really did not come together very well when rolling it out.But surprisingly the finished crust was not that bad, after much manipulation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I used this recipe while making my first pie crust. It was simple to make and I had no difficulty rolling the dough. It also baked very well and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
My opinion may be premature, but I was disappointed with the final results. I must admit I needed 6 pie shells and tripled the recipe without adjusting any ingredients. I guess the lesson learned from this is, if you need more than 2 pie shells, consider using another recipe. My curiosty was peaked after reading the high reviews posted with this recipe. My Mother was a pastry chef and I learned my crust making abilities from her. I will continue to use the process learned from my Mother's hands, love and knowledge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This crust came out perfect!!! My family loved the flavor of my blueberry pie. I had to add a little more water when rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I read all 100 plus reviews and the main thing I came up with was that chilling the dough for an hour helps. I also used a food processor to cut in the butter which I used instead of shortening. I didnt have to use as much liquid as stated. I added a little bit at a time. After chilling the dough still seemed quite soft and I thought it was goin to be hard to work with but it wasn't. My aunt (walking cookbook and great pastry maker) has tried for years to bring my pastry up from just passable and failed. After eating a quiche made with this my dad said I'll tell Aunty Ellen you've finally made it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
No one commented on the crust when I made this recently. I did change things a little. I used salted butter instead of shorting, added 1tsp of sugar for sweetness and dash of cinnamon. However, it was fairly unremarkable. It was better than store bought crusts but not a highlight for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This pie crust did taste good, however I think it takes some tweaking to get the dough right. I did chill it and I still had problems with it sticking and or breaking. Thanks for the recipe though my company enjoyed the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMAREK50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is the first pie crust I've made that actually came out, tasted great, rolled out easy and finally worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elkins, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States