Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I give this 5 stars for taste, and 3 stars for texture. Yes, it was flaky...in fact, it was too flaky. I've never had a crust crumble so severely! If you even touched the crust lightly, it falls apart. Even the plastic wrap (I put over the quiche I made) caused the crust to fall off! I was embarrassed by the mess it made at the hostess' home when I went to a Christmas potluck today. It has too much shortening...maybe substituting some butter would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Just made my very first pie ever using this pie crust and it turned out perfect! This recipe was super easy to follow and tasted amazing. It has a buttery flavor and is very flaky and just melts in your mouth. I was having trouble cutting in my shortening so i gave up and just used my hands to mix it in together and did the same thing at the end of the recipe as well for I found it easier and quicker. I also decided to chill my dough for 30 mins in the fridge before rolling out. My end result was perfection!! I'll be making pies more often and will be using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the best crust ever! Thank you so much for sharing. I didn't have any white vinegar so I replaced it with water. I also used real butter instead of shortening because I didn't have any shorten. The taste is unbelievable. It almost taste like a shortbread cookie. Everyone talked about how good my pie was. I'm excited that I finally found something easy and perfect to make for the holidays or a party. I made an apple pie and peach cobbler....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is my go to Pie Recipe. It comes out beautifully. Even on fruit pies, it flakes and comes out perfect. I'm not sure why this doesn't have thousands of reviews.:) This recipe with the apple pie by Grandma Ople is absolutely the best combination ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lya Batlle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the first time I made my own pie crust. I wanted to make a chocolate cream pie. When I cooked the crust for 12min. the dough shrunk so much, how do I correct that? I added a rating but I don't feel it is fair I want to try it again after I get some advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Super easy!!! Must refrigerate before rolling out. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Willard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
The BEST pie crust I've ever made. It is the same recipe that my grandmother used. I do use butter Crisco and I do refrigerate my dough for about an hour. People who don't usually eat the edge of pie crust will eat this. I've used other recipes but keep coming back to this one. It's easy to mix and easy to roll out. I'm sticking with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This made a wonderful crust, even though I used wholemeal flour. I had a bit more than I needed so froze the extra dough. After three weeks I defrosted it to top a chicken pot pie and it was, again. perfect. A great recipe that will be used many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
very easy to make and it taste great! love it xxxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chantale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbellton, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I just used this recipe to make a chicken pot pie, and it was absolutely amazing! It was flaky and very flavorful. It met with universal acclaim amongst my family, which is a rare accomplishment. I made the recipe precisely as written. I chilled the dough for only about twenty minutes, but I had no trouble working with it. I am usually intimidated by pie crust, but no more. I highly recommend this recipe to everyone from pie making veterans to first-time novices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States