Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the first time I made my own pie crust. I wanted to make a chocolate cream pie. When I cooked the crust for 12min. the dough shrunk so much, how do I correct that? I added a rating but I don't feel it is fair I want to try it again after I get some advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Super easy!!! Must refrigerate before rolling out. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Willard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
The BEST pie crust I've ever made. It is the same recipe that my grandmother used. I do use butter Crisco and I do refrigerate my dough for about an hour. People who don't usually eat the edge of pie crust will eat this. I've used other recipes but keep coming back to this one. It's easy to mix and easy to roll out. I'm sticking with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This made a wonderful crust, even though I used wholemeal flour. I had a bit more than I needed so froze the extra dough. After three weeks I defrosted it to top a chicken pot pie and it was, again. perfect. A great recipe that will be used many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
very easy to make and it taste great! love it xxxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chantale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbellton, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I just used this recipe to make a chicken pot pie, and it was absolutely amazing! It was flaky and very flavorful. It met with universal acclaim amongst my family, which is a rare accomplishment. I made the recipe precisely as written. I chilled the dough for only about twenty minutes, but I had no trouble working with it. I am usually intimidated by pie crust, but no more. I highly recommend this recipe to everyone from pie making veterans to first-time novices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I got this recipe out of the Allrecipes cookbook that my mom bought me for Christmas a few years back. I searched high and low for a good pie crust and THIS IS IT! It has NEVER failed me! It comes out flaky and perfect EVERY TIME! As a matter of fact, for the first time ever I entered a pie in the local fair this past week and my pie won second place and I KNOW this crust had something to do with it! ;) Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It tastes delicious! It cooks beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everything Dessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I have used this recipe for everything from pot pie to peach cobbler and the crust is always perfect! Just to change things up I sometimes add a tsp of cinn to the crust, any leftovers get treated with a splash of egg wash and some cinn/sugar, the kids just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Grozier R
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This has become my go-to pie crust recipe. Easy, flakey, and a generous portion to make a little something extra. I hate recipes that leave you needing more crust. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Grozier R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States