Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It tastes delicious! It cooks beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everything Dessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I have used this recipe for everything from pot pie to peach cobbler and the crust is always perfect! Just to change things up I sometimes add a tsp of cinn to the crust, any leftovers get treated with a splash of egg wash and some cinn/sugar, the kids just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Grozier R
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This has become my go-to pie crust recipe. Easy, flakey, and a generous portion to make a little something extra. I hate recipes that leave you needing more crust. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Grozier R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made it my ninja! Love that it isn't so sweet , really allowed the filling to carry the flavor with this crust acting as a smooth bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Turned out nice. Needs a little salt for my taste. Added an egg wash to the top with some kosher salt. Made with Chicken Pot Pie. Oh, Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoastalOne
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Amazing! The best crust I have ever made, or tasted for that matter. Read all the reviews and followed the tips. I only swapped out 1/4 c. of shortening for butter for extra taste. In my case even after taking it out of the frig to roll out it was very crumbly but it came together once I dusted with more flour. I used it for the bottom and top of my home made chicken pot pie. The crust definitely made the recipe. Save this one to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoastalOne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Hooey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waupaca, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've used this recipe for over 40 years with only a few minor changes. #1 I only use lard for pie crusts and Vodka for the ice water. Always flakey and perfect. The vodka cooks out with baking and leaves the best crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Matteson, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Easy to mix and roll out. Tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States