Grandma's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
This baked up into a SUPER flaky and almost delicate crust. Handling it prior to baking was a chore though, with the dough not wanting to stick together, but sticking like crazy to the pin and the mat (yes, I refrigerated it for over an hour). I made it work, but SHEESH; so that lowered my rating of this recipe. If you can get it into your pie pan, you'll probably like the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
I made this crust for a sweet potato pie. I usually just eat the filling out of the pie and leave the crust. But I took a bite of this crust and thought it was just to yummy to leave. Best crust ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This is the recipe I have used for over 30 years, although with a couple of minor changes. Apple cider vinegar instead of white (but i do not mind trying something different), and putting the shortening in the freezer before adding it to the flour. (I now keep my shortening in the freezer all the time!). This turns out perfect every time! Plus, the leftovers make wonderful cinnamon/sugar “cookies”.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Very flaky, delicious, but hard to work with. I ended up just pressing it into my pie pan. Since I was making a quiche, I thankfully didn't need to roll a top coat! All that flakiness is grest with quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The only reason I gave this one star is that was as low as I could rate. I followed the recipe exactly and mixed it by hand while adding the wet ingredients but it turned out tough and fell apart. Luckily I had a back up plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I give this 5 stars for taste, and 3 stars for texture. Yes, it was flaky...in fact, it was too flaky. I've never had a crust crumble so severely! If you even touched the crust lightly, it falls apart. Even the plastic wrap (I put over the quiche I made) caused the crust to fall off! I was embarrassed by the mess it made at the hostess' home when I went to a Christmas potluck today. It has too much shortening...maybe substituting some butter would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Just made my very first pie ever using this pie crust and it turned out perfect! This recipe was super easy to follow and tasted amazing. It has a buttery flavor and is very flaky and just melts in your mouth. I was having trouble cutting in my shortening so i gave up and just used my hands to mix it in together and did the same thing at the end of the recipe as well for I found it easier and quicker. I also decided to chill my dough for 30 mins in the fridge before rolling out. My end result was perfection!! I'll be making pies more often and will be using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the best crust ever! Thank you so much for sharing. I didn't have any white vinegar so I replaced it with water. I also used real butter instead of shortening because I didn't have any shorten. The taste is unbelievable. It almost taste like a shortbread cookie. Everyone talked about how good my pie was. I'm excited that I finally found something easy and perfect to make for the holidays or a party. I made an apple pie and peach cobbler....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is my go to Pie Recipe. It comes out beautifully. Even on fruit pies, it flakes and comes out perfect. I'm not sure why this doesn't have thousands of reviews.:) This recipe with the apple pie by Grandma Ople is absolutely the best combination ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lya Batlle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the first time I made my own pie crust. I wanted to make a chocolate cream pie. When I cooked the crust for 12min. the dough shrunk so much, how do I correct that? I added a rating but I don't feel it is fair I want to try it again after I get some advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

This recipe is more than 100 years old--tried, true, and oh so tasty.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States