Grandma's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
WOW with a few changes this recipie was the best I have ever tasted!!! so fresh and creamy delish! First of all I put used 1/2 cup of sugar not a whole cup, and I used olive oil instead of veggie oil. I put all ing. (except the olive oil) into the food processor on high until well blended. I then turned the the processor down to low and slowly in a steady stream poured in the olive oil until blended and slightly thick. all I can say is WOW my whole family raved about this salad dressing. It is truly worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
GREAT salad dressing. My new favorite. Catalina dressing with a zip. I only used 1/2 of a medium onion and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Absolutely Delicious! I did change the method of preparation, and added about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. I put all of the ingredients except the oil into a blender. Pulsed several times to incorporate. I then blended on high speed, and slowly added the vegetable oil in order to completely emulsify so that the oil wouldn't separate upon sitting in the frig., and poured the mixture into a quart mason jar, covered, and sealed. I am looking forward to my LARGE salad this evening with this wonderful, tasty, dressing. THANKS Mary Ann for sharing this with all of us--reminds me of the dressing I ate as a child some 65 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Great Tangy Taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I used 1/2 a large onion, 1/2 the amount of sugar and added 1 clove of garlic and a tbsp of molasses, which cut the onion flavour a bit and kept the colour rich. I took Gordon's advice and blended all the ingredients except the oil which I added slowly at the end. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
It does taste like my grandma's dressing, but I didn't really like it all that much when Grandma made it either. It's very sweet and the ketchup is rather strong. It reminds me a lot of those French-Catalina dressings that were all the rage at church potlucks in the seventies. I don't want to rate it too low, because *you* may really like that sort of thing. Only a bozo (like me) wouldn't expect sweet with that much sugar in the recipe! If sweet orange-hued french dressing floats your boat, you may love this. It just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
WOW!! What can I say. This dressing was wonderful. Very light and refreshing. Its alot like a Catalina. I had my hubby try it before I told him there was ketchup in it. He loved it. The ketchup is surprisingly nice in this dressing. I will definately make this again, and a larger amount of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
The onion is wonderful if you mince, puree or blend it with the other ingredients. I agree that it does not need that much sugar or oil to taste good and sweet. Too grainy with all that sugar! You really need to emulsify it and let it sit in the refrigerator to meld. Next time, I'll cut the oil in half and cut back a little on the sugar. But, it was tasty. My dinner guests and family enjoyed it, and yes, I would make it again. It'a a nice addition to my repertoire of salad dressings. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I made mine without the onion, came out just fine. It tastes like a refines French dressing. Truly excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
Great, used it to marinate chicken, grilled the chicken and put it on a mixed green salad with tomatos and french fries, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States