Grandma's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Only used 1/2 an onion since reviews said it was a little oniony. Even so, no one like it...found it strong. Sorry, we won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
The onion is wonderful if you mince, puree or blend it with the other ingredients. I agree that it does not need that much sugar or oil to taste good and sweet. Too grainy with all that sugar! You really need to emulsify it and let it sit in the refrigerator to meld. Next time, I'll cut the oil in half and cut back a little on the sugar. But, it was tasty. My dinner guests and family enjoyed it, and yes, I would make it again. It'a a nice addition to my repertoire of salad dressings. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I used 1/2 a large onion, 1/2 the amount of sugar and added 1 clove of garlic and a tbsp of molasses, which cut the onion flavour a bit and kept the colour rich. I took Gordon's advice and blended all the ingredients except the oil which I added slowly at the end. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I made mine without the onion, came out just fine. It tastes like a refines French dressing. Truly excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
Great, used it to marinate chicken, grilled the chicken and put it on a mixed green salad with tomatos and french fries, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This got rave reviews from "the guys" while watching a hockey game. That says a lot! This recipe makes a ton though so might want to half it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Great dressing! Definately will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This dressing tastes like a dressing that my grandma used to serve...it was so good. Even my picky children liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is a very tasty salad dressing. I used slightly more than half the amount of sugar called for and added a clove of garlic. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Delicious salad dressing...the only thing that I would change is using a bit less sugar. Otherwise, it was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI149

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States