Grandma's Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Love this dressing. My husband says it's his favorite. To lose a few of the calories, I use Splenda instead of white sugar. I also use dried onion pieces to save time and chopping. A big thank you to Mary Ann's grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janis nyc
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
awesome dressing, much better than anything in a bottle. good dip for chicken fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I am trying out new salad dressings and this one was the first of many I want to try. I scaled the recipe to 6 servings and used the calculate button to try out the dressing. This scaled down amount made 3/4 of a cup of dressing. I thought it seemed like a lot of sugar, but it tasted more of vinegar than anything. I realized that the recipe called for white wine vinegar, and not red, when I had planned to make it. So, I just went with the red as it was what I had in the house. The white wine vinegar would probably have been less strong. This really does have to be mixed because it separates easy. I was lucky in that the amount I made fit perfectly in a 1 cup plastic container with a twist top lid. I thought the dressing tasted like a better homemade version of French's dressing, which I don't normally care for. I guess I will know tommorrow when I use it on a salad. Edit note: I tried it today and it was delicious. It is perfect on chopped up iceburg lettuce. It has a nice fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This does not taste like French or Catalina dressing. I would not recommend anyone make this. It tastes like vinegar and oil. I made 2 different batches one with vinergar and one with out neither one was good even tried mixing them together but still no good. I will not make this ever again. had to give it one star because the site makes you give it a star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colcord, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I didn't put the onion or Worcestershire sauce in. I wanted a bit more creaminess to it, so I added about 2 teaspoons of mayo in. Also added oregano. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wow! This dressing is delicious! I'm never buying dressing again! I thought I had Worcestershire sauce, but turns out I only had soy sauce... still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
never going to buy Catalina again - this is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Perfect! Just like Grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I've been looking for a long time for a recipe like my Grandma's. This is very close. I used cider vinegar because I knew Grandma never used white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
fantastic salad. Tangy like a russian dressing. My husband asks for it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States