Grandma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was looking for a great rice recipe to serve with Filet Mignon or Prime Rib ( to mimic a favorite restaurant) and this is it ! I added green pepper slices but that was the only thing.. this is a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Quinnellope1
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Just to clarify-- If the rice is a little wet for you-- Just take the lid off at the end and let it cook for 5-10 minutes longer. It will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnellope1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is what my stepfather always calls "the rice dish"; he recalled that it was present at all of his family's holiday dinners. He described it for me and this is basically what's been coming out of the oven ever since. Only thing I do differently is saute the rice and onion in the butter before I put it in the pan and mix with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Delicious and simple! I revised it a bit...skipped the onion, only used 3/4 stick of butter and sauteed chicken and added it to the mixture and threw it in the oven. Presto! Fabulous and EASY dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My family totally loves this rice. It is so super to make, and easy to customize. My kids even wanted me to make it for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This was great! I didn't have the consomme. I used water and three beef bullion cubes instead. I also cut the butter in half. It was great! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by john szulewski
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Did up an big old rib eye on the weber out back after popping this in the oven earlier. I couldn't have asked for a better accompaniment! This rice dish was right on what with the mushrooms, onion and then that buttery beefy taste. Taking leftovers for lunch tomorrow. That should say it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by john szulewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I used fresh mushrooms and garlic that I sauteed in a little of the butter called for in the recipe. My boys especially loved this rice, but both my husband and I thought it could use a little spice. Me on my own thought that the butter could be cut out a bit and maybe add in something else (like pureed vegetables) to replace some of the fat. It went really well with My Mom's Parmesan Chicken, which is also from this site, and roasted vegetables. Very simple, which this tired Mama appreciated, and it used on hand ingredients. I'll make this again, but play with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Thanks for this! Your recipe, minus the parmesan, was my mother's and grandmother's "rice pilaf." It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcarmi8
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I used Basmiti rice, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States