Grandma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I was looking for a great rice recipe to serve with Filet Mignon or Prime Rib ( to mimic a favorite restaurant) and this is it ! I added green pepper slices but that was the only thing.. this is a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This tastes like what Rice-A-Roni wants to be when it grows up. Next time I'll cut down on the butter and add a little less liquid. It was a bit wet for our tastes, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Strasburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quinnellope1
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Just to clarify-- If the rice is a little wet for you-- Just take the lid off at the end and let it cook for 5-10 minutes longer. It will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnellope1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is what my stepfather always calls "the rice dish"; he recalled that it was present at all of his family's holiday dinners. He described it for me and this is basically what's been coming out of the oven ever since. Only thing I do differently is saute the rice and onion in the butter before I put it in the pan and mix with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I thought this rice was lacking a bit of humpf... perhaps because I only used a quarter of the amount of butter?? After 45 minutes in the oven, there was still a lot of liquid so I cooked it uncovered for the last 15 minutes and it turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Delicious and simple! I revised it a bit...skipped the onion, only used 3/4 stick of butter and sauteed chicken and added it to the mixture and threw it in the oven. Presto! Fabulous and EASY dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was good, but could've used a bit more flavor. I didnt see a huge difference in the taste of this and a store bought rice-in-a-box product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I used fresh mushrooms and garlic that I sauteed in a little of the butter called for in the recipe. My boys especially loved this rice, but both my husband and I thought it could use a little spice. Me on my own thought that the butter could be cut out a bit and maybe add in something else (like pureed vegetables) to replace some of the fat. It went really well with My Mom's Parmesan Chicken, which is also from this site, and roasted vegetables. Very simple, which this tired Mama appreciated, and it used on hand ingredients. I'll make this again, but play with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Thanks for this! Your recipe, minus the parmesan, was my mother's and grandmother's "rice pilaf." It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcarmi8
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My family totally loves this rice. It is so super to make, and easy to customize. My kids even wanted me to make it for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States