Grandma's Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BathtubNinja
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I wanted to try this with fresh mushrooms. Was out of beef consomme so I subbed golden mushroom soup which I didn't realize was gravy-like. Used chicken broth instead of water as recommended and added an extra 1/2c. to make up for missing liquid from my soup/using fresh mushrooms. After mixing, it smelled like basic rice and gravy which wasn't what I was going for so I added pepper to taste (I love me some pepper!), about 1 tsp chicken bouillon granules and 1/2 tsp dried thyme. Then I topped with 4tbsp butter because I'm not Paula Deen. Rice cooked up perfectly without need for additional liquid. I only had Havarti on hand so I used that. End result was tasty, mushroom rice (not gravy, yay!). This was a snap to make with pre-sliced mushrooms. Next time I won't bother with cheese, I prefer the rice alone. When I finished my rice and put the bowl away I might have hovered over the leftover rice eating more spoonfuls. My toddler loves rice so he happily ate two servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is super yummy. Easy to put together, the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is wonderful rice - full of flavor!!! I used chicken stock instead of the water and I only used 1/2 stick of butter. It was YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by john szulewski
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Did up an big old rib eye on the weber out back after popping this in the oven earlier. I couldn't have asked for a better accompaniment! This rice dish was right on what with the mushrooms, onion and then that buttery beefy taste. Taking leftovers for lunch tomorrow. That should say it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by john szulewski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This was great! I didn't have the consomme. I used water and three beef bullion cubes instead. I also cut the butter in half. It was great! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I used Basmiti rice, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chepachet, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My family totally loves this rice. It is so super to make, and easy to customize. My kids even wanted me to make it for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Thanks for this! Your recipe, minus the parmesan, was my mother's and grandmother's "rice pilaf." It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcarmi8
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I used fresh mushrooms and garlic that I sauteed in a little of the butter called for in the recipe. My boys especially loved this rice, but both my husband and I thought it could use a little spice. Me on my own thought that the butter could be cut out a bit and maybe add in something else (like pureed vegetables) to replace some of the fat. It went really well with My Mom's Parmesan Chicken, which is also from this site, and roasted vegetables. Very simple, which this tired Mama appreciated, and it used on hand ingredients. I'll make this again, but play with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was good, but could've used a bit more flavor. I didnt see a huge difference in the taste of this and a store bought rice-in-a-box product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States