Grandma's Rhubarb Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is very good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
The recipe is great up until you reach the meringue section. It is unclear how much sugar to use and it fails to mention that you must use a glass or metal bowl. I have never made a meringue before and was mixing and mixing the eggs with a lack luster result. I ended up using a separate recipes for the meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
excellent recipe. we have here rhubarb season, and wanted to try something new and this was the right choice. everybody loved it and i have already shared this recip with few my friends. i am baking it again! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baiba Prindule

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My sister-in-law has an awesome tort recipe, but she wasn't home for me to get it, so found this one. It is just as good as my sister-in-laws, if not better. Shhhh don't tell her. This was very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was not that great the night that I made it, when it was still warm. I was worried that I would just end up throwing out a huge pan full of dessert. Fortunately this morning I pulled it out of the fridge (where I stored it wrapped in plastic wrap_not foil) and it was delicious! The meringue really held up and the fruit was soft and sweet instead of slightly crunchy. Even the crust tasted bettter! I highly recommend making this and leaving PLENTY of time to chill in the fridge and let everything mesh, possibly even the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was very good, and a bit different. A great way to use up an abundance of rhubarb. Shared w/ in-laws and they loved it. Leftovers were a nice treat the next day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I don't know what I did but it didn't come out cake-like at all. It was like a rhubarb pie and was soft like a fruit pie filling. I even baked it longer because it didn't "set". I'm afraid to cut into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I REALLY liked this, and so did everyone else. My only complaint was that I didn't have quite as much rhubarb as the recipe called for, so it wasn't as rhubarby as I'd have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was my first rhubarb recipe, and it was pretty good! However, I didn't like the topping, and instead would suggest using whipped cream. The pie itself was definitely good, though. For a more traditional pie taste for those who may have never had rhubarb before, add a little more sugar to the recipe and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Loved it, great hit. Shouldn't have cut back on topping or crust, despite having less rhubarb than called for (still used 9x13 pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States