Grandma's Raspberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Deserves a 10. You're nuts if you do not stop searching and make a batch of these! I happened to use a combo of Apricot Preserves and a bit of Smucker's Pineapple Ice Cream Topping! The bars are thick and they just melt in your mouth one after another :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Taste was good, but I agree with the other reviewers that there was too much crumble. Perhaps reducing the amount of oats would help, as 1 1/2 cups seems way too much for the amount of dough you save for the topping. You couldn't eat these like a bar because the crumble all fell off. Also, they seemed too thin, and I will try it with a 9x9 pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious, used fresh raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
These bars are delicious! They are very rich and go well with holiday baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Pretty good. I did however make some changes. I didn't have and raspberry jam, so instead I used frozen. I also made a mixtire of cream cheese, eggs, sugar, and vanilla, and poured that over the berrys before topping it all with the streusl. Turned out very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Great raspberry bars! I used Solo raspberry pastry filling instead of jam and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
These came out great except I made a few changes. I added another 2 tablespoons of softened butter to the topping because it seemed dry. I substituted chopped almonds for walnuts. Also, I realized I didn't have any plain oats, so I used apple/cinnamon flavored oats instead...it turned out great! Would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I agree with a few other reviewers in that the top comes out really crumbly but the taste is really yummy. Half of the pan is gone and it only came out of the oven a half an hour ago. I think this would be great served when still warm over some vanilla bean ice cream, kind of like the applecrisp at Chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Blain Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
So yummy. I made these to go in Christmas baskets and really had a hard time giving them up. Had to promise my husband I would make a batch just for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was a tasty recipe my only recomendation is once you place the base onto the bottom of the pan, to bake in a preheated oven about 5-7min or just before the crust starts to completely brown. it helps the crust set up better and easier to take out of the pan for cutting. I used preserves since I had no jam on hand.. the bars were still tasty but gooey and didn't set as nicely. I added about 1/4 cup o add'l walnuts for added flavor. great recipe i'll do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hasani21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States