Grandma's Raspberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
this recipe is exeptional. I added 1 cup of coconut and omitted the nuts bc i didnt have them. I also added alittle more jam to the middle, maybe a cup of jam used over all, just so it was a little bit more moist in the middle. i will use this time and time again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candacewyscaver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious, used fresh raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Everyone really liked these. A few things I would change for next time: I would make the bottom layer mixture less dry, and I would make more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These were simple to make. I used additional raspberry jam because it didn't seem like much when I spread it but then all the flavor was from the jam. They were good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These really are great tasting bars. I was looking for a recipe that would come close to those sold in delis and bakeries, and this comes very close. It's chewey and rich, really yummy. I'd cut back a lil on the oats/nut mixture next time as there was too much topping. I also added almond flavoring to the butter flour mixture and that put it over the tope delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
The flavor of these is great, however, the top was a little too crumbly and most of the oatmeal fell off. Maybe reduce the oatmeal by 1/2 a cup? I don't know but they taste fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
These are really more like a raspberry crumble than a bar. I added about 2 tbsp extra butter to the dough because it looked way too crumbly to bake well, and I didn't want a dry, crumbly dessert. I also stopped adding oats after about 1 cup because it looked like enough to me. The first time I baked these, they did not turn out. After 35 minutes in the oven, the top looked golden brown and the dessert seemed done; I took it out of the oven, let it cool a bit, cut into it and found that the bottom layer was not done at all. You can't really do the toothpick test on these because the raspberry jam will stick to the toothpick regardless of whether or not the whole thing is done. I had to put these back in the oven and it's been about 15 more minutes now and they still weren't quite done. The second time I baked these, I used a 9x9 dish and bit less jam and left them in the oven for 30 minutes exactly; they turned out perfectly cooked. I think the first time the jam may have been keeping the bottom layer too moist to cook properly, but I'm really not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
These were very good. My only real complaint was that the crumbly topping didn't stay in place and I was left with nearly a cup of loose topping in the bottom of the pan by the time I cut all the squares (from two batches). (I've been eating it by the spoonful for the last few days). I might decrease the oats next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
So good! I usually add chocolate chips in between the jam and the final layer. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Pretty good. When they come out of the oven they don't seem like they'll be bar-like, but when cooled they are. I halved the recipe and used a 9x9 pan. I had to cook mine for about 10 minutes longer and they probably could've gone for another 5. I like a crisp top and bottom though. The only change I made was to use raspberry preserves instead of jam. The topping is a little on the extra crumby side so next time I think 1/2 c of oats would suffice. Thanks for helping me satisfy my raspberry craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States