Grandma's Pork and Bean Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I know..kind of dumb to rate your own recipe BUT this is really good. It's quick and it's easy to please even most teenage boys' appetites. Turkey bacon may also be used to make it more healthy. In fact, that is what I use almost all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
The taste of childhood. I was actually writing this out for the family recipe book and searched to see if I could cheat! Yippee, less typing for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
A no-frills dish - not gourmet but tasty. I fried the bacon, heated the beans, and toasted the bread before assembling and broiling in the toaster oven until the (cheddar) cheese melted. More work and more dishes, but the final product came out better. This way there wasn't bacon grease all over everything, the cheese didn't disappear into the beans, and the bread didn't disintegrate - my husband was able to eat it by picking it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I also toasted the bread, and microwaved the bacon first. I made one sandwich with American cheese slices, and another with extra sharp Cheddar; I was surprised that I liked the cheese slice one more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Very good!!! I was skeptical about my husband liking this, but he did. He said he wouldn't want it every week or anything, but every now and then. It was so simple and FAST to make. I will use this recipe again when I am in a big hurry. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Pretty darn good. Will use real cheese next time instead of the plastic stuff. It was made even better by the fact that I had a big pot of home made baked beans all ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I took the suggestion of cooking the bacon and toasting the bread first because I like crunchy things. I always drain pork 'n beans. I liked the combination of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I would make this again. I used whole wheat instead of white bread, since that's what I had. Next time though, I will cook the bacon prior to putting the sandwiches into the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
My eight year old rated this. I would have given it one star. The bread turns out soggy and the bacon doens't crisp. You do need to keep a close eye on it the last minute or two. I would recommend this for teenage boys. I can see why they would like it, but I'm deleteing it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe brought back memories of my childhood. My mother made these often but used hamburger buns. She buttered the halves before putting the beans on--helps to keep the bread from getting soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

This tasty pork is great on your favorite bun. It’s simple to make, too.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States