Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great! I used fresh mushrooms and added some onions. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
When I read the reviews I thought they were fairly positive. I noticed someone complaining about lack of flavor, but just dismissed it. Well, I made recipe about a week ago - and that person was quite right. There was no flavor. I used fresh mini bella mushrooms with pork loin. It all looked lovely, but it was completely tasteless. I think it needs something with zip - like fresh rosemary. Just something other than salt and pepper. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galfriday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Good basic recipe, but unfortunately, we followed it without checking all the comments about shortening the cooking time, so while they tasted good with the gravy, the meat was too tough. Next time, we'll cut the time as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
absolutely fantastic. even the children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but it's a good base to start with. I had fresh mushrooms rather than canned, but this was the only recipe I found that didn't use cream of mushroom soup. I added half an onion and a little thyme. After tasting, I added some garlic powder as I could barely taste the garlic. I don't have sherry, so I used more beef broth and a splash of white wine vinegar. I removed the chops after a short time as they cooked quickly and I didn't want them to dry out, and kept them warm in the oven while I continued to cook down the gravy. I served it with mashed red potatoes and corn. It wasn't the best gravy I ever made, but it was pretty good with a little adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This did not turn out well for me. The sherry was overpowering. I cut the cook time down significantly but the meat was still tough. Not the kid-pleaser I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Great recipe.. Comfort food at its finest. I took advice of another review and subbed apple juice for the sherry and also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
YUMM! This is now a staple in my home. USE THE SHERRY. It truly gives it a rich, lucious flavor. Just make sure you allow it to cook off. I usually have wine in the house so I've used both white and red and both produced excellent results. I make lots of gravy and serve with mashed potatoes and a veggie with fresh Italian bread. What great comfort food. Thank you grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Was very happy with how tender the pork chops turned out. The recipe did not specify bone-in chops or not, but I used boneless and it worked great. Definately a keeper....even my 3-year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Based on other comments, I shortened the cooking time and used a meat thermometer. I probably browned the chops too long because mine were at 170 degrees in 30 minutes. I added one half sweet onion chopped, used 3 8oz packages of fresh sliced mushrooms and substituted chardonnay for the sherry (only because that is what I had on hand). All in all it is a good recipe, I am going to try the mushroom gravy with other meats. I served this with steamed cauliflower and some great crusty bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States