Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Made this with fresh mushrooms, good dish. And as what everyone says, it's a lot of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Delicious. Since this is basically a braise, I used decent sized bone-in pork sirloin chops. Because of their size, I doubled the gravy ingredients so the chops could remain mostly submerged. I probably could have increased the amount of gravy by only 50%, but it was so darn delicious I'm glad I didn't. By the way, don't saute the garlic until after you've browned the chops in a little oil. Otherwise you'll just burn it up, along with the butter. With the extra gravy I increased the lid-on cooking time by half an hour, and the lid-off time by 15 minutes. The only change I might make next time would be to use stock instead of broth. I highly recommend doing what other reviewers did, as far as using a dutch oven to sear the chops, saute the garlic, deglaze with the sherry, then throw everything back in for cooking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I thought that sauce/gravy was great, had a ton of flavor and was the perfect thickness. However, I thought the pork chops had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is my favorite pork chop recipe. Don't change a thing - it works perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
i cant stress enough how much i LOVE this recipe !!! it is soooo easy to make and this is coming from someone who only started cooking real meals this year lol .... so delicious thanks so much for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were wonderful! I, of course, used fresh mushrooms instead of canned ones. And I did reduce the cooking time. But aside from that? Perfect! Even my two young children devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
reduced the number of chops to three, but made full amount of gravy. Served gravy on potatoes too. Used 1/3 cup Marsala in place of sherry. Following others advice, only baked 25 minutes. Chops and gravy delicious. Chops tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe without using canned ingredients. I've made this several times now, the only change I make is leaving out the sherry, as I don't like cooking with alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great! I used fresh mushrooms and added some onions. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
When I read the reviews I thought they were fairly positive. I noticed someone complaining about lack of flavor, but just dismissed it. Well, I made recipe about a week ago - and that person was quite right. There was no flavor. I used fresh mini bella mushrooms with pork loin. It all looked lovely, but it was completely tasteless. I think it needs something with zip - like fresh rosemary. Just something other than salt and pepper. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galfriday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States