Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I did bread my chops with some Italian bread crumbs. I used one cast iron skillet, just removed the chops to a plate while deglazing and making the broth. I then put my chops back into the skillet and baked. The reason for four stars is the time is too long, my chops were well done in 45 minutes and they were pretty thick. I'd make again with fresh mushrooms. The gravy was good, I did use low sodium beef broth. Very good with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My chops were one inch thick, and the cooking time was perfect. The only changes I made were to up the garlic to six cloves and to lay the chops on a bed of vidalia onion rings in the baking dish. I used fresh mushrooms rather than canned, and also added just a bit of sage. Quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Carr Veals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Easy and tasty! Made for our supper club and everyone loved it. I used fresh baby bella mushrooms, white wine and beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i subbed apple juice for the sherry since i dont keep it on hand and this is by far one of the best pork chop recipe ive tried on this site. i did add about a half of a sliced white onion to the pan when i did the garlic and i sprinkled the chops with ms dash before i cooked them. very slight changes i dont think altered the recipe a bit. this was amazing and great with mashed potatoes green beans and a tomato salad. ill make this alot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This recipe had mixed reviews from my family. I just thought it was ok; however my husband and his friend loved it and raved about it (maybe it's a guy thing?) I wouldn't make it again for myself; but have already made it a second time for my husband's benefit. I did like that it didn't use the mushroom soup you so often see. My husband has high blood pressure so we try to eat as close to salt-free as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
so good! use fresh mushrooms but very tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I added one sliced onion and I also used fresh mushrooms. This was easy enough to make but we didn't really care for it. It really was inedible. In my opinion, there was too much sherry. Maybe cut it in half, at least? It just tasted too much like alcohol and you couldn't taste any of the other ingredients. If I'd had time, I would have read through the reviews first. My mistake. We had frozen pizza for dinner and dinner was WAY late. NOT HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very yummy!! Hubby loved it. Didn't have a can of mushrooms so I used fresh and didn't have any sherry so used some dry white wine instead. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
We Love the simplicity and deliciousity of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States