Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I will definitely make this again.I also used apple juice instead of sherry. I did not put the cops back in the oven after the 45 minutes of cooking, they were done and very tender. Oh and used fresh mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I love this recipe. I cook it for a shorter amount of time and combine this recipe with the baked pork chops I recipe on this site, meaning I bread the pork chops with Italian seasoning bread crumbs and used a can of condensed mushroom soup in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This would have been an amazing recipe but the cook time is based on a thick pork chops (learned that the hard way). I cut cook time covered by 20 min and were still overcooked. I don't feel cooking them for an additional 15 uncovered was necessary either. Check after 25 covered and if cooked pull them out and continue with instructions. The gravy was delicious and I will definitely make this again being sure to cook for way less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Wonderful my son asked me cud he get seconds my huband even loves it...Im going to try this with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I did add some onion to ours, but we absolutely loved it and WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this twice now in the last 2 weeks and LOVE it!! So very good. The first time I did nlt have beef broth or sherry so I used 2 bullion cubes and 3 cups water to ake a little extra gravy and I used white cooking wine instead of Sherry and it was very good. The gravy is great on potatoes on the side also which is what I did. I also shortened the baking time to about 20 minutes and an additional 15 because I think I cooked it a little longer when I pan fried it. I cooked it in a cast iron skillet which i just used to put straight into the oven and made making the gravy easy. The second time I used fresh button mushrooms aand actual beef broth but still used the white wine since it was so darn tasty the first time. Definitely a kepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I have a house full of pork chop fans and nobody cared for this recipe. I think it was strong sherry flavour that turned everyone off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My husband and I loved this recipe. I made it almost as written. The only difference is I used fresh mushrooms and sauteed them in a little additional olive oil. I also added a bit of onion and some fresh rosemary to the mushroom mixture. My intention was to bake them for 30 minutes but my hubby is funny about pork so I baked them for 45 minutes. They were a tiny bit tough but with the gravy that goes over them, they were simply delicious. I also made some mashed potatoes and the gravy was delish on those as well. I will be making these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very tasty. Overdosed on stock, because I had a quart of beef stock canned a while back, and because I had more pork chops to cook than good sense. So instead of water I just added the juices to the cornstarch at the end. Made great gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob McMillin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States