Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much. I purchased two large, thick bone in Pork Chops. I followed the recipe as written except for using fresh mushrooms, 2 cloves of garlic and Tapioca Flour to make it gluten free and a few sprigs of fresh thyme. Only had to bake them for 25 minutes covered and 5 minutes uncovered. We don't like our meat over-cooked, so I used a thermometer. Pork was tender and moist. Let the pork rest, while I made the gravy. I did use a good drinking sherry, which I believe makes all the difference. I cooked it all in one dutch oven. I set the pork chops on a plate while I sautéed the mushrooms and deglazed the pan, then added them back to the pan. Gravy was wonderful! Will be making this again and again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I'm not a huge fan of pork chops, but my husband is. He really liked this recipe. Pork chops were very tender and had alot of flavor. Simple meal and not too much to clean up afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I said I musta done something wrong the first time I made these.....nope! I made them again and doctored them up as some on here have done, they're still just OK. They have very little flavor..or a lot of Sherry taste.Outta my recipe files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This one is a keeper. The family loved it. I did add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent! Cut the sherry down to 1/2 cup, and added more beef broth to compensate. Used fresh baby portobellos. Ran out of cornstarch so used flour to thicken gravy. Didn't change anything else. Will definitely cook this one again. Served w/spinach and mashed sweet potato w/diced jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
My family loved this version-no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Way to much sherry. Was more like a wine reduction than a gravy. I planned to serve with mash potatoes and we had to eat the potatoes plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This would be a five star recipe if you could still buy the same bone-in pork chops Grandma did 50 years ago, but you can't. I remember those uncious roasts and chops from my childhood, but not now unless you raise your own pork or know a farmer with 'Heritage' pigs. An hour in the oven? This's really just a modified pan sauce recipe that creates more dishes to wash and may leave you with shoe leather chops. I might use this recipe as is for bone-in, double thick chops, but I was using boneless (IE sliced pork loin). Here's what I do...Melt half butter/ half oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add garlic, and saute until fragrant. Season pork chops with salt and pepper, then fry them in the skillet until almost done, about 5-6 minutes per side. Move the pork chops to a dish. Pour fresh mushrooms in with the pork drippings and garlic, saute till softened and done to your liking. Stir in the sherry and beef broth, scraping any bits of pork that are stuck to the pan. Bring to boil, reduce by half. Add the juices from the plate of chops to the pan, bring to boil, slowly pour in the cornstarch mixture as your stir and cook until thickened, about 2 minutes. Add back the chops for a few minutes, turning, then move to the plates and spoon the sauce over the chops. This is a dandy little pan sauce and a delicious meal, but why not just do it in one pan? Mom2oovc was right, you just don't need to cook modern pork products this long. And dinner's in 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Yuck! This took a lot of time, and I ended up with a big mess of dishes to clean up. The chops were tough, and had no flavor. Since I substituted apple juice for sherry, the gravy was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Didn't have sherry to use but just increased the beef broth and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States