Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
These were easy and delicious! However, being one who is trained and worked in Food Safety and Temperture Monitoring, I would recommend cutting the baking time almost in half. Pork Chops need only cook to 160 degrees for Medium and 170 for well done. You take them out of the oven when they are 10 degrees from where you want them to be because there is carry over cooking time. This will keep them juicy...I cooked mine 15 minutes less then suggested and they were still way over cooked (190 degrees when I took them out). So, a definite keeper recipe, using fresh mushrooms, but only need to bake about 20-25 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I did not have sherry on hand, so I substituted it with apple juice. The chops were very tender and tasty. Definitly worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I didn't have canned mushrooms so I used 1 8 oz package of presliced mushrooms. I didn't have beef broth either so I used 2 cups hot water and a knorr beef bouillon cube. It turned out so good my bf ate 3 and his friend had 2. I only got 1. It makes alot of gravy so I made mashed potatoes with it. All you need is a vegi. Gravy was so good my bf ate his peas with the gravy on it (he does not like peas). I can't say enough about this dish it was so good. Thank you for sharing a wonderful dish that I will make to get those ohhhs and ahhhs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
The first time I made this the only modification I made was to use fresh mushrooms. As it stands, I would give the original recipe a 3. But with modifications, I think this could easily be a 4 or 5. Here is what I now do. First, I use a dutch oven for the whole thing so there is not bother with two pans. In the dutch oven when the butter is melted, I add about 1/2 minced onion and a couple sprigs of thyme, in addition to the garlic. After browning the pork chops, I add the mushrooms, cooking for a minute or two and then the sherry (the kind you drink, not the cooking kind) to deglaze, cooking on high until it's almost evaporated, about 6 or so minutes. Then I add the beef broth, bring to a new boil, cover and stick in the oven. I only cook for 35 minutes covered and 10 minutes uncovered. DH and I both enjoy this and I tend to think pork chops are just "okay."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I did the entire thing on stove top. When it was time to add the cornstarch, I pulled the chops out, added the cornstarch/water mix to the thickness I wanted, than added some Classico pesto sauce (to taste - about 2 - 3 T) and then, bleu cheese salad dressing (Maria's - about 1 - 2 T) to give it a little kick. Put the chops back in, warmed everything up and had it over brown rice. Amazing with adding pesto and bleu cheese can do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I added one sliced onion and I also used fresh mushrooms. This was easy enough to make but we didn't really care for it. It really was inedible. In my opinion, there was too much sherry. Maybe cut it in half, at least? It just tasted too much like alcohol and you couldn't taste any of the other ingredients. If I'd had time, I would have read through the reviews first. My mistake. We had frozen pizza for dinner and dinner was WAY late. NOT HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Recipe came out great, thanks to my meat thermometer. As mentioned earlier, the cook time for this is too long. I also used flour to thicken instead of corn starch, as I don't like clear gravy. We liked it, and it is now in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was awesome! My husband loved it very much and so did I. I didnt have dry sherry though so I used 1 tbsp canadian whisky... hehehe >:-) There was a slight kick! I'd definitely make this again.... with the whisky!:p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Most of the people that loved this recipe, modified it. Cooking it exactly as the recipe requests is absolutely awful. There could not be a blander recipe. Maybe I'm spoiled with...let's see...flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This is the best recipe yet from this site. I will definetly be making this again. I served over a bed of rice and made extra sauce to put on the rice. Fresh asparagus sauteed in butter also goes great with this recipe. I felt like I was dining in a fancy restaurant. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States