Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I did not have sherry on hand, so I substituted it with apple juice. The chops were very tender and tasty. Definitly worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I didn't have canned mushrooms so I used 1 8 oz package of presliced mushrooms. I didn't have beef broth either so I used 2 cups hot water and a knorr beef bouillon cube. It turned out so good my bf ate 3 and his friend had 2. I only got 1. It makes alot of gravy so I made mashed potatoes with it. All you need is a vegi. Gravy was so good my bf ate his peas with the gravy on it (he does not like peas). I can't say enough about this dish it was so good. Thank you for sharing a wonderful dish that I will make to get those ohhhs and ahhhs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Yummy, pork chops are very tender and gravy is very flavorful over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I'm not a big pork chop fan, but thought I'd give this recipe a try with boneless center cut chops. The store was out of plain beef broth, so I used Swanson's Onion Beef Broth. My husband and son loved it. The chops were tender (even though I overcooked them a bit) and the gravy was delicious. Next time I'll cut the cooking time down by at least 15 mts. And - by popular demand - there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Does your Grandma have anymore recipes like this one!!! Wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I used pork tenderloin and an 8 oz package of fresh sliced mushrooms instead of canned. I couldn't bring myself to use that much sherry, so I used 1 can beef broth, 1/4 cup sherry and the rest apple juice. I didn't have cornstarch on hand, so I used a few tablespoons flour mixed with a few tablespoons the juices after it came out of the oven. I whisked in to the rest of the juices and it thickened up nicely. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
We buy pork chops in bulk and I'm always looking for a good way to cook them. This recipe was delicious. I didn't have sherry or beef broth on hand so I substituted apple juice and chicken broth. It turned out fabulous. Also to make it more of a meal, I added broccoli to the gravy. I served it all on a bed of rice. We'll be using this one again and again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
If you like the taste of alcohol in your food, then this is the recipe for you. All I could taste was the Sherry and it was extremely strong. I would suggest to cut back on the Sherry and maybe add some apple juice or something. I thought it was awful and was a big waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was wonderful. I was concerned about the amount of sherry, but it gave the gravy a very good flavor. I also served mashed potatoes to take advantage of all the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was my first time cooking with Sherry. I also couldn't bring myself to use 1 cup. Just used 1/2 cup and 1/2 cup apple juice. Kids refused to eat it. Husband ate one but also didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States