Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This did not turn out well for me. The sherry was overpowering. I cut the cook time down significantly but the meat was still tough. Not the kid-pleaser I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Great recipe.. Comfort food at its finest. I took advice of another review and subbed apple juice for the sherry and also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
YUMM! This is now a staple in my home. USE THE SHERRY. It truly gives it a rich, lucious flavor. Just make sure you allow it to cook off. I usually have wine in the house so I've used both white and red and both produced excellent results. I make lots of gravy and serve with mashed potatoes and a veggie with fresh Italian bread. What great comfort food. Thank you grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Was very happy with how tender the pork chops turned out. The recipe did not specify bone-in chops or not, but I used boneless and it worked great. Definately a keeper....even my 3-year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse C.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Based on other comments, I shortened the cooking time and used a meat thermometer. I probably browned the chops too long because mine were at 170 degrees in 30 minutes. I added one half sweet onion chopped, used 3 8oz packages of fresh sliced mushrooms and substituted chardonnay for the sherry (only because that is what I had on hand). All in all it is a good recipe, I am going to try the mushroom gravy with other meats. I served this with steamed cauliflower and some great crusty bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
great recipe. used wondra instead of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Oh my GOODness was this great for a change! Loved the gravy! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Per the reviews we reduced the cooking time. Next time will use a meat thermometer. Added a minced shallot because I like them. Used fresh mushrooms, and thickened with flour because had no corn starch. 3 of 4 of us loved it. Served with mashed potatoes. Will double the gravy next time because it we added more broth and sherry and we still ate it all! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This receipe was awesome. Absolutely loved it. I would give it 5 stars. Toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peacefulrider44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These were the best pork chops I have ever made I added sliced red onion when I added the mushrooms and it turned out so good I served it with wild rice which went perfect with the sauce. I will def make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States