Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is my favorite pork chop recipe. Don't change a thing - it works perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
i cant stress enough how much i LOVE this recipe !!! it is soooo easy to make and this is coming from someone who only started cooking real meals this year lol .... so delicious thanks so much for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These were wonderful! I, of course, used fresh mushrooms instead of canned ones. And I did reduce the cooking time. But aside from that? Perfect! Even my two young children devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
reduced the number of chops to three, but made full amount of gravy. Served gravy on potatoes too. Used 1/3 cup Marsala in place of sherry. Following others advice, only baked 25 minutes. Chops and gravy delicious. Chops tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe without using canned ingredients. I've made this several times now, the only change I make is leaving out the sherry, as I don't like cooking with alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great! I used fresh mushrooms and added some onions. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
When I read the reviews I thought they were fairly positive. I noticed someone complaining about lack of flavor, but just dismissed it. Well, I made recipe about a week ago - and that person was quite right. There was no flavor. I used fresh mini bella mushrooms with pork loin. It all looked lovely, but it was completely tasteless. I think it needs something with zip - like fresh rosemary. Just something other than salt and pepper. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galfriday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Good basic recipe, but unfortunately, we followed it without checking all the comments about shortening the cooking time, so while they tasted good with the gravy, the meat was too tough. Next time, we'll cut the time as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
absolutely fantastic. even the children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but it's a good base to start with. I had fresh mushrooms rather than canned, but this was the only recipe I found that didn't use cream of mushroom soup. I added half an onion and a little thyme. After tasting, I added some garlic powder as I could barely taste the garlic. I don't have sherry, so I used more beef broth and a splash of white wine vinegar. I removed the chops after a short time as they cooked quickly and I didn't want them to dry out, and kept them warm in the oven while I continued to cook down the gravy. I served it with mashed red potatoes and corn. It wasn't the best gravy I ever made, but it was pretty good with a little adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States