Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i subbed apple juice for the sherry since i dont keep it on hand and this is by far one of the best pork chop recipe ive tried on this site. i did add about a half of a sliced white onion to the pan when i did the garlic and i sprinkled the chops with ms dash before i cooked them. very slight changes i dont think altered the recipe a bit. this was amazing and great with mashed potatoes green beans and a tomato salad. ill make this alot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This recipe had mixed reviews from my family. I just thought it was ok; however my husband and his friend loved it and raved about it (maybe it's a guy thing?) I wouldn't make it again for myself; but have already made it a second time for my husband's benefit. I did like that it didn't use the mushroom soup you so often see. My husband has high blood pressure so we try to eat as close to salt-free as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
so good! use fresh mushrooms but very tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I added one sliced onion and I also used fresh mushrooms. This was easy enough to make but we didn't really care for it. It really was inedible. In my opinion, there was too much sherry. Maybe cut it in half, at least? It just tasted too much like alcohol and you couldn't taste any of the other ingredients. If I'd had time, I would have read through the reviews first. My mistake. We had frozen pizza for dinner and dinner was WAY late. NOT HAPPY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Very yummy!! Hubby loved it. Didn't have a can of mushrooms so I used fresh and didn't have any sherry so used some dry white wine instead. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
We Love the simplicity and deliciousity of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I gave this 5 stars because it was super easy to make. Don't let the header "takes a little bit of work" may you shy away. I thought it was very simple. I like a thin gravy and this suited me fine. I did add scallions while cooking the garlic the garlic. Perfect with mashed potatos, sour cream & chives. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was really good. I made just a few modifications: I used fresh mushrooms and onion. I only cooked 30 minutes covered because the chops were almost one inch thick. I then cooked another 10 minutes uncovered. Thanks for sharing a great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Made this with fresh mushrooms, good dish. And as what everyone says, it's a lot of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Delicious. Since this is basically a braise, I used decent sized bone-in pork sirloin chops. Because of their size, I doubled the gravy ingredients so the chops could remain mostly submerged. I probably could have increased the amount of gravy by only 50%, but it was so darn delicious I'm glad I didn't. By the way, don't saute the garlic until after you've browned the chops in a little oil. Otherwise you'll just burn it up, along with the butter. With the extra gravy I increased the lid-on cooking time by half an hour, and the lid-off time by 15 minutes. The only change I might make next time would be to use stock instead of broth. I highly recommend doing what other reviewers did, as far as using a dutch oven to sear the chops, saute the garlic, deglaze with the sherry, then throw everything back in for cooking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States