Grandma's Pork Chops in Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This turned out so good! Used fresh mushrooms and instead of the sherry I used red cooking wine. I cooked everything in the skillet. I can not imagine cooking pork chops for as long as stated. In the skillet I cooked for about 15 minutes. The gravy is the best! Great with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe. I modified it a bit based on others' comments, but it's basically great. All I changed was doubling the gravy amounts with the exception of the sherry. I used apple juice as others who had no sherry had suggested. But, while I doubled the other original ingredient amounts, I halved the original ingredient amount for sherry and substituted it with apple juice. It received excellent reviews from my partner. Did not taste like apple at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I will definitely make this again.I also used apple juice instead of sherry. I did not put the cops back in the oven after the 45 minutes of cooking, they were done and very tender. Oh and used fresh mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I love this recipe. I cook it for a shorter amount of time and combine this recipe with the baked pork chops I recipe on this site, meaning I bread the pork chops with Italian seasoning bread crumbs and used a can of condensed mushroom soup in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This would have been an amazing recipe but the cook time is based on a thick pork chops (learned that the hard way). I cut cook time covered by 20 min and were still overcooked. I don't feel cooking them for an additional 15 uncovered was necessary either. Check after 25 covered and if cooked pull them out and continue with instructions. The gravy was delicious and I will definitely make this again being sure to cook for way less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Wonderful my son asked me cud he get seconds my huband even loves it...Im going to try this with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I did add some onion to ours, but we absolutely loved it and WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this twice now in the last 2 weeks and LOVE it!! So very good. The first time I did nlt have beef broth or sherry so I used 2 bullion cubes and 3 cups water to ake a little extra gravy and I used white cooking wine instead of Sherry and it was very good. The gravy is great on potatoes on the side also which is what I did. I also shortened the baking time to about 20 minutes and an additional 15 because I think I cooked it a little longer when I pan fried it. I cooked it in a cast iron skillet which i just used to put straight into the oven and made making the gravy easy. The second time I used fresh button mushrooms aand actual beef broth but still used the white wine since it was so darn tasty the first time. Definitely a kepper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I have a house full of pork chop fans and nobody cared for this recipe. I think it was strong sherry flavour that turned everyone off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States