Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
wow...these are delicious! Dough is easy to work with and just like my grandma used to make yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bobbybsgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Everybody loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbybsgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have never made perogies before but I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out wonderfully. They do cook very quickly in the boiling water so watch them closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This dough was very easy to work. Great taste. I use Velvetta cheese and creamed cheese in the potato filling. Assemble these and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet being careful not to touch pierogies together. Freeze then place in zip bags. Melt butter and saute onions in the butter if you like. After boiling pierogies place in butter and onion mixture. Enjoy! I just made 124 of these for Christmas Eve with help from DH. It goes a lot faster if you have help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Has anyone ever tried kapousta, ( I know I didnt spell that right! Lol!) filled pierogis? I was married into a polish family who his father came over on the boat in the 40's. Pierogis where a staple during the holidays. We all went to his house and did the assembly line. Lol! We made potato and ham and kapousta which is polish sauerkraut, leftover pork roast and Worcestershire sauce to taste. These pierogis where straight from the old country and oh so yummy! We would use sour cream to put a drop on top of the potato ones. I've never had ones with cheese in them. I'm thinking that might be a American thing cuz the way I was told was pierogis where away to use up leftovers so things weren't added to them. Kapousta is a polish dish also so that was the way to get rid of those leftovers. Now ill be making pierogis for the holidays and am looking forward to trying potato with cheese. We would make up about 100 then freeze. When we where ready to eat them we fried them till golden brown. Can't imagine eating them just as boiled noodle dough. The browning makes a world of difference! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I decided to try this recipe as I had all ingredients on hand and it looked relatively easy. However, the dough came out way too sticky to work with. I then realized I had no idea where the rolling pin was, so I wound up trying to make flat circles by stretching small pieces by hand and wrapping spoonfuls of filling inside. that didn't really work either - still too sticky. I went ahead and fried some of the frozen ones. They were a little hard to fry with the ball shape, but they were delicious! So all the points are for flavor. I might retry again and hope they come out as gorgeously as they do in the pictures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Abraham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is the same as my dough recipe, but it is essential that the dough be kneaded so you don't end up with a tough dough. If you have a kitchen Aid Mixer with a dough hook on number 2 setting, knead for 10 minutes. It makes all the difference in how easy the dough will roll out and taste. Shredded Cooper Sharp will give them a wonderful flavor. Teddyinlove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shumail
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Very nice... Went with 3 eggs and didn't have sour cream so added yogurt. Boiled em up and sautéd then with butter onions and paprika. Served me with mayo and I couldn't keep up. None of them made it to the table...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This was the first time I made perogies. I used a gluten free dough but used this recipe for the filling. It is absolutely wonderful! Much better than store bought! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Awesome dough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States