Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Mmmmm Good. I haven't had real home-made perogies in over 15 years. I had to get this recipe so I could learn to make them. In my second batch I used minced onions in the potato mix, and a whole lot more of cheese, and added some all purpose seasoning/everglade seasoning. After I boiled the perogies, I sauted them in light oil with more onions, just to brown and crisp them. I can eat them plain, but my family likes a little alfredo sauce over them. Great Recipe!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This was my first time making perogies. I followed the dough recipe exactly. Very easy to work with! For my filling, I used red skin potatoes (because I had them on hand) and added diced onions sauteed in lots of butter! Also added cheddar cheese, parsley, salt and pepper. I did have some extra filling -- not a problem. When I actually prepared some for dinner, I boiled them as instructed and then browned them on the grill with more onions,oil, and butter (on foil). They were great! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This was my first time making perogies and it turned out great! I added some sauted onions and some bacon bits to the potato mixture, and it turned out great. The dough was very easy to work with even though it was my first time ever making my own dough. I just keep using lots of flour on the rolling pin. After boiling, I sauted with some onions and butter. Pefect! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
just got back from Poland. Same recipe. Excellent. I used a variety of mushrooms, cooked down, add butter let it cool in fridge. And stuffed them with the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
one of the best Perogie dough recipes i've used.... yes it's a bit hard to roll out.....but if i can do it...so can everyone else... my filling although i've always just improved... with potatoes, cheese(s), bacon, onion, garlic... yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Lupton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is an awesome recipe, I will often double this and freeze the uncooked perogies for future use. I have never had a better perogie, and I've eaten LOTS of perogies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Now I remember why I only make these once a year for Christmas. What a big job these are. I'm not even a real fan of them, but the family counts on me making them. This made a nice soft dough to work with, and I'll definately print it out to use again next year. I didn't bother with the cheese sauce. I like the idea of freezing them on a cookie sheet, I've never done that before but we did so with our big double and a half batch this year. The ones for dinner will be boiled but for appetizers we'll fry them in butter and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Love this recipe! thanks sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
My family and friend's just love these perogies. They are a big hit in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This recipe was delicious and easy to make!!! I didn't have the cheese sause for the filling, so I substituted sour cream and light cream instead. I prefer my perogies to be lightly browned, so after boiling I fried them with some olive oil, butter and onions. I cooked the onions first in the oil and butter then added the perogies. This makes the list as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Speigletown, New York, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States