Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Because it can be quite time consuming making perogies, here's a suggestion. Make your filling the day before. That way you only have to mess with the dough the day you are going to make them. Also, after boiling the perogies, we always saute them with butter and onions before eating. Fry perogies until a light golden brown. Little crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Don't burn your onions. gently saute until translucent. A dollop of sour cream when serving is a nice additon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
693 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Goodchild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Two suggestions that make go from alright to WOW! 1) After boiling the perogies remove from the water and fry them with a small amount of oil until browned on both sides. 2) Top with cottage cheese. By themselves, they are a bit bland, but with the cottage cheese they are fantastic. For the filling, I omitted the prepared cheese sauce and added more grated cheese and a little milk & butter. We liked them so much that we wanted to have family dumpling cook-off, trying different types of filling. With some leftover dough we made dessert dumplings filled with cherry pie filling which were also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
369 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was OUTSTANDING!!!!! I have never made perogies before, and was extremely hesitant after reading ALL the reviews. Even hubby said to just go to the store and buy a bag! Which, of course, to me was an invitation to an immediate challenge!! It took some doing, but 4 hours later~VOILA!! Very time consuming, as I was all alone, but I highly recommend an assembly line of family members to quicken to project!! I, on the other hand, love to do it all myself, taking all the praise...HAHA!! Luckily, they were an IMMENSE hit with my family, even my 11 year-old, who never eats perogies, EVER!!! I must say that rolling out the dough was a struggle, then I cut them into perfect circles, which shrunk to 1/2 the size once I picked them up. Easy to fix, just mashed them down with my fingers, kind of like pizza into a pan. I then overstuffed them and pinched closed with floured fingers, and froze. I ended up with 58 perogies and still extra filling, which I froze for later use, and I made it with mashed potatoes, cheddar, real bacon, fried onions, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. YUMMY!!! My husband and his buddy who is here from Newfoundland, went on for hours about them and my cabbage rolls. The best compliment is when they say " this is even better than my mom's!!" LOVE THAT! Permanent recipe in my rotation and thanks a bunch, ever so much!! LOVELY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is a great dough! I did add extra oil...I am a fan of the calories and this prevents the dough from drying out, plus lets face it this dough gets a little sticky...I kept oiling my hands as I kneeded the dough. Filling well that is up to you and what your into... I like onions fried in butter and simple easy....cheese whiz. Makes for great freakin perogies! Here is the trick to freezing perogies...a cookie sheet and wax paper... you can put layer after layer of perogies on 1 cookie sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This was my first time making perogies. I followed the dough recipe exactly. Very easy to work with! For my filling, I used red skin potatoes (because I had them on hand) and added diced onions sauteed in lots of butter! Also added cheddar cheese, parsley, salt and pepper. I did have some extra filling -- not a problem. When I actually prepared some for dinner, I boiled them as instructed and then browned them on the grill with more onions,oil, and butter (on foil). They were great! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Great recipe - the dough is delicate and tasty and can be filled with any filling you can dream up. I made mine with mashed potatoes and carmelized onions. I had to cover my dough with a moist paper towel while making the perogies because it began drying out. Also, a note of caution - when freezing perogies place on a lightly greased plate or cookie sheet. I didn't do this and mine stuck to the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I made this special treat for my family's Easter Sunday Diner. I made them a week in advance and froze them. They came out GREAT! Everyone loved them! Def. make in advance. It took hours to make. I prefer to roll out the dough pretty thin because I dont care for a really "doughy" pasta. This is time consuming but the dough rolls out really nice! Double the recipe and it makes about 6 dozen perogies. I needed to add a little more flower then what was recomended. I omitted the cheese sauce but made three differnt flavors, beacon, onion, and garlic. The onion flavored seemed to be the most populare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
These where the best perogies I have ever made, the dough was so easy to work with, the biggest complaint I had from my family was that I didn't make enough! One tip I placed the perogies on parchment paper before freezing to avoid sticking to the pan, works great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allheart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Mmmmm Good. I haven't had real home-made perogies in over 15 years. I had to get this recipe so I could learn to make them. In my second batch I used minced onions in the potato mix, and a whole lot more of cheese, and added some all purpose seasoning/everglade seasoning. After I boiled the perogies, I sauted them in light oil with more onions, just to brown and crisp them. I can eat them plain, but my family likes a little alfredo sauce over them. Great Recipe!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
These perogies were wonderful! My dough turned out great and easy to manage, and I pretty much followed the recipe exactly. For the filling we mixed potatoes with fried onion and bacon, parsley and about a cup of grated cheese. The result was truly splendid and well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gothenburg, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States