Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This was my first time making perogies. I followed the dough recipe exactly. Very easy to work with! For my filling, I used red skin potatoes (because I had them on hand) and added diced onions sauteed in lots of butter! Also added cheddar cheese, parsley, salt and pepper. I did have some extra filling -- not a problem. When I actually prepared some for dinner, I boiled them as instructed and then browned them on the grill with more onions,oil, and butter (on foil). They were great! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
My family and friend's just love these perogies. They are a big hit in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This recipe was delicious and easy to make!!! I didn't have the cheese sause for the filling, so I substituted sour cream and light cream instead. I prefer my perogies to be lightly browned, so after boiling I fried them with some olive oil, butter and onions. I cooked the onions first in the oil and butter then added the perogies. This makes the list as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Speigletown, New York, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I started them last night and after 3 hours I wasn't even half way done. I couldn't get the dough to roll thin at all so I had to cut it, stretch it out and fill them. The only thing I changed was adding some lightly fried onions, they were really good but I have to find another method to get them rolled. Thanks! (I changed my rating from 5 to 3 because it took SO long, I never finished and ended up throwing it all out after 3 days)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Mmmmm Good. I haven't had real home-made perogies in over 15 years. I had to get this recipe so I could learn to make them. In my second batch I used minced onions in the potato mix, and a whole lot more of cheese, and added some all purpose seasoning/everglade seasoning. After I boiled the perogies, I sauted them in light oil with more onions, just to brown and crisp them. I can eat them plain, but my family likes a little alfredo sauce over them. Great Recipe!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
These are good and fun to make. I wanted to share the adjustments that I tried that worked: I used half whole wheat flour in the dough and also used nonfat yogurt in place of the sour cream. I cut the recipe in half, so I only used one egg (did not include the extra yolk). The dough was fine with all these changes and was fairly easy to work with. It's time consuming, but not difficult. I also made my own filling using up leftover mashed potatoes and adding onions sauteed in butter and then pureed, cheddar cheese, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was my first attempt at making perogies. When they came out of the pot they looked a little slimy. My wife saw them and decided she didn't want to try perogies. I pan fried them in butter to make them more visually appealing, and she and the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Go Fish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This was my first time making perogies and it turned out great! I added some sauted onions and some bacon bits to the potato mixture, and it turned out great. The dough was very easy to work with even though it was my first time ever making my own dough. I just keep using lots of flour on the rolling pin. After boiling, I sauted with some onions and butter. Pefect! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
the perogieswere good untile a sertine point. that point was when you freeze it .but very deliciose. iloved these perogies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This is an awesome recipe, I will often double this and freeze the uncooked perogies for future use. I have never had a better perogie, and I've eaten LOTS of perogies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States