Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Had a pierogie making party with my niece and MIL. For first timers, worked out great! Used dough hooks with my hand mixer intstead of mixing by hand. Kept everything floured, even though dough is sticky it worked out ok. Stopped in the middle and ate some we boiled and then pan fried. Mmmmmmm, good stuff. I made my own garlic cheesy mashed potatoes the night before. Niece was adventurous and added all sorts of things in some for herself. We got around 40 out of each batch, made the dough twice. Thanks Steph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe instructions, but the dough was too moist that I could not roll it out. So, I had to add lots of flour. The dough was hard to roll out thin. What did I do wrong?? Other poeple seem to have no trouble with dough. Any suggestion?? NOTE: Frozen ones were tastier than fresh ones. We actually enjoyed the frozen ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are yummy but a touch bland. The potato mixture tasted great when I mixed it up, but the final product didn't seem to have as much flavour. I did saute them in butter after boiling, and let some shredded cheese melt over top before eating. Not a big deal though, easy enough to add/change the filling flavour with whatever you want. The dough recipe and method worked out great. It was super easy, if a bit time consuming (though not as time consuming as I was expecting, actually). Thanks for the recipe, I had fun making my own perogies! Not sure I'll make this often as I do like the frozen ones, but it was a nice project for a day off. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I make these every year for Christmas. I love them. My favorite is the sauerkraut ones. Saute some sauerkraut in butter and add a little brown sugar and fill. YUM! My grandma used to fill them also with apricot or plum filling, remember it is more of a noodle not pastry but a little bit of sweetness they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
awesome, i add meat and made it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Potts Bucholtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
The dough was great, I always use my own filling recipes. first is potatoe, cheese and bacon, i cheat by using pre packaged flavored instant four cheese potatoes when im in a rush. saurkraut and onion is second then i mix the left over fillings together to make the third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Thank you for a great recipe. I left the cheese out of the filling but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The dough was very easy to work with; freezing before putting in boiling water is ingenious! Not one of the perogies broke!! With leftover filling we made pototo pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
These were delicious! Definitely double the dough. I added garlic, bacon, and sauteed onions to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Takes a loooong time to make, but WELL worth it! I fried up the perogies after boiling as suggested, and at a dinner party, i served them with either sour cream or with an alfredo sauce that I made. Absolutely amazing! I highly suggest freezing them ahead of time, it took me 6 hours from start to finish to complete this (I was working by myself, i REALLY suggest getting a friend to help)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States