Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made these for a cooking club that I belong to and they all loved it. They taste just like the ones my grandmother made. My husband even loved them. I left out the onion salt and the processed cheese sauce added 1/4 cup more of cheddar cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Really good! I had store-bought ones a few weeks ago and I immediately came here to see if there was a recipe for them. I quartered the recipe, just to try it out. I followed the directions, but also added a lil' milk, butter, and garlic to my mashed potatoes to make them extra creamy. I just used a four cheese mexican mix b/c I had that on hand. I layed out some parchment paper on the counter to roll them out on and keep the clean-up easy. It took a few to get the hang of folding them just right but I turned out twenty medium size perogies. I placed them on parchment paper on a cookie sheet to freeze, then placed half in a bag. I then boiled the other half 'til floating, then sauteed in a lil' butter and sprinkled with black pepper. Very good!!! Way better than store bought. I will make a full batch soon and try some variations-add bacon, ham, or spinach--my imagination is going wild!! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by limelee7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Exactly like my Polish grandmother used to make ! Beats store-bought and day....and so easy to make...thanks for posting this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! Tastes just like ones my Bab makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I am glad that someone else out there knows how to make Perogies. I grew up eating them as well as making them. I used your dough this time instead of what I grew up with. I enjoyed it a alot and think I will be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Im 15 and i made them:) yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These are so much better than their store-bought counterparts! The only thing I did different was using 2 cups of cheddar and none of that disgusting processed "stuff." Can't wait to try other fillings with it. FYI: for those who think these are bland, try frying them in olive oil or butter after boiling. Better yet, deep fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I have never made perogies before and didn't know what to expect. They were delicious but I think I will buy them from now on... SO much work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
SUPER FREAKING FANTASTIC! Made as ordered.. the dough was EASY to work with.. No changes! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This recipe makes the most wonderful elastic workable dough ever! Resting the dough is critical, if you start too soon it snaps back and your perogies will be think, working with a young friend, and wanting to keep her out of my way, she rolled the dough very thin, i liked hers best. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States