Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I was looking for a great perogie dough and this is it. I had never made perogies but living in Pittsburgh and not liking the perogies available here in the perogy capital of the nation, I had to give it a try. A co-worker who's been making perogies forever googled perogies and after reviewing several recipes, found this to be the most similar to how she makes her dough. What a find! This dough is perfect. Easy to work with and delicious. I dumped everything into my mixer and mixed until it formed a ball that clung to the regular stir gaget. We have been unimpressed by the blandness of this local specialty so I altered Cowboy Mashed Potatoes from this site as the filler by sauteing in butter very finely diced carrots, red bell pepper, onions, jalapeno pepper until onion is carmalized then add garlic. I used softened cream cheese and Velveeta (that's all I had). I made everything the night before so the mashed potato mixture was easy to work with and the dough got a rest. I also used my pasta machine going up to 4 and doing just enough dough at a time to make 2 pretty large perogies. These are fun to make, seal easily and the dough is so forgiving that it just stretches to compensate for my lack of skill. I put them on a parchment covered cooky sheet, froze them and then bagged them. They are such a favorite that if I served them with every meal, I'd get no complaints. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Had a pierogie making party with my niece and MIL. For first timers, worked out great! Used dough hooks with my hand mixer intstead of mixing by hand. Kept everything floured, even though dough is sticky it worked out ok. Stopped in the middle and ate some we boiled and then pan fried. Mmmmmmm, good stuff. I made my own garlic cheesy mashed potatoes the night before. Niece was adventurous and added all sorts of things in some for herself. We got around 40 out of each batch, made the dough twice. Thanks Steph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe instructions, but the dough was too moist that I could not roll it out. So, I had to add lots of flour. The dough was hard to roll out thin. What did I do wrong?? Other poeple seem to have no trouble with dough. Any suggestion?? NOTE: Frozen ones were tastier than fresh ones. We actually enjoyed the frozen ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are yummy but a touch bland. The potato mixture tasted great when I mixed it up, but the final product didn't seem to have as much flavour. I did saute them in butter after boiling, and let some shredded cheese melt over top before eating. Not a big deal though, easy enough to add/change the filling flavour with whatever you want. The dough recipe and method worked out great. It was super easy, if a bit time consuming (though not as time consuming as I was expecting, actually). Thanks for the recipe, I had fun making my own perogies! Not sure I'll make this often as I do like the frozen ones, but it was a nice project for a day off. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I make these every year for Christmas. I love them. My favorite is the sauerkraut ones. Saute some sauerkraut in butter and add a little brown sugar and fill. YUM! My grandma used to fill them also with apricot or plum filling, remember it is more of a noodle not pastry but a little bit of sweetness they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
awesome, i add meat and made it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Potts Bucholtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
The dough was great, I always use my own filling recipes. first is potatoe, cheese and bacon, i cheat by using pre packaged flavored instant four cheese potatoes when im in a rush. saurkraut and onion is second then i mix the left over fillings together to make the third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Thank you for a great recipe. I left the cheese out of the filling but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The dough was very easy to work with; freezing before putting in boiling water is ingenious! Not one of the perogies broke!! With leftover filling we made pototo pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
These were delicious! Definitely double the dough. I added garlic, bacon, and sauteed onions to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States