Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
My Doukhobor babuska called these vareniki. I remember them with potato/onion and homemade cottage cheese. My favorite is the potato/onion. This is an excellent recipe Sheph577. Time to make another batch! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chief cook & bottle washer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Better than the grocery store frozen kind. These were flavorful but very sticky to roll out and assemble. We had to pour a lot of extra oil over the dough to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
great, easy to roll dough. However, after boiling, we must have let them sit too long and all of the pierogis stuck together in one big mass. Did not set them out on a separate cookie sheet after cooking as well. Should have. Tasted good, but looked horrible. A little disappointing after all that time we spent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It took forever to prepare, but it was worth it in the end. However, to make it a little bit healthier, I would prepare the dough with Original plain yogurt instead of sour-cream, it has the same taste and texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
We enjoyed these very much, easy to make and great filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The dough is very easy to work with, has nice elasticity, altho I do find it difficult to roll out to the correct thinness. I read another review that said she just pulled off individual balls of dough and rolled out...I may try that next time, and then you're not left with all those little scraps of dough that need re-rolling. I find this filling a bit bland, and I even added some seasoning salt, celery salt etc. Next time with add some finely shredded cabbage (saute first). Overall nice comfort food, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
AMAZING!! The only thing I omitted was the cheese sauce and just added double the shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
When I made my first batch they all came out soggy and had a gross texture. I made sure I took them out once they started to float. Maybe I'm just not used to the texture but for me they weren't so great! Also I would use just 6 potatoes instead of 8, or you will have leftovers. When I finished, I ended up just frying them and they tasted much better. I may make these again, but I'll change up alot things!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These look awesome, thanks for sharing, Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is very close to my family's recipe. Many childhood memories of making "padogies". We filled them differently and I still do. In some go mashed potatoes, some shredded cheddar cheese, and some saurkraut. I just boil mine and serve with just hot melted butter and salt and pepper! It takes a while to make, but so worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States