Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
husband loved this. i learned that flouring my table liberally worked better because the dough would just stick to the work surface when i wet the edges my 'circles' would rip apart when i would try to peel them off. what worked for me the best was rolling the dough out (dont forget to flour your rolling pin too!) then cutting out all the circles. then spoon the potatoes into each circle. then get a brush (don't use fingers, your fingers will become one clobbered up messed in no time!) and a cup of water and wet only one side of the circle shaped dough, pick up the dry side and press onto the wet side with your fingers, pick it up carefully and put on a baking sheet, rinse and repeat. start the boiling the water, and in another pan, fry up some cut up bacon. cook the now frozen perogies in the boiling water, transfer to another dish. once the bacon is cooked, scoop that out and add butter to the bacon grease. fry the perogies in there. when you are all done doing that, put the bacon bits on top of fried perogies then sprinkle chives or green onion on top, serve sour cream on the side. also in a pinch i used plain yogurt instead of sour cream for the dough mix because i didn't have enough for the mix and to serve with at the end. still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Yum! I stuffed half of these with a mixture of mashed potatoes, cheddar cheese, fried onions, garlic and bacon, and the other half with fried mushrooms and sauerkraut (something a Polish friend of mine introduced me to). Both worked out very well, although one or two fell apart during cooking (make sure to pinch the seams closed very tightly). I would also add that the time in the recipe doesn't account for freezing time. I wanted to freeze mine thoroughly before cooking, and I had to keep them on greased cookie sheets in the freezer overnight. Very time consuming, but absolutely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made these for a cooking club that I belong to and they all loved it. They taste just like the ones my grandmother made. My husband even loved them. I left out the onion salt and the processed cheese sauce added 1/4 cup more of cheddar cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Really good! I had store-bought ones a few weeks ago and I immediately came here to see if there was a recipe for them. I quartered the recipe, just to try it out. I followed the directions, but also added a lil' milk, butter, and garlic to my mashed potatoes to make them extra creamy. I just used a four cheese mexican mix b/c I had that on hand. I layed out some parchment paper on the counter to roll them out on and keep the clean-up easy. It took a few to get the hang of folding them just right but I turned out twenty medium size perogies. I placed them on parchment paper on a cookie sheet to freeze, then placed half in a bag. I then boiled the other half 'til floating, then sauteed in a lil' butter and sprinkled with black pepper. Very good!!! Way better than store bought. I will make a full batch soon and try some variations-add bacon, ham, or spinach--my imagination is going wild!! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Exactly like my Polish grandmother used to make ! Beats store-bought and day....and so easy to make...thanks for posting this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! Tastes just like ones my Bab makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I am glad that someone else out there knows how to make Perogies. I grew up eating them as well as making them. I used your dough this time instead of what I grew up with. I enjoyed it a alot and think I will be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Im 15 and i made them:) yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These are so much better than their store-bought counterparts! The only thing I did different was using 2 cups of cheddar and none of that disgusting processed "stuff." Can't wait to try other fillings with it. FYI: for those who think these are bland, try frying them in olive oil or butter after boiling. Better yet, deep fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States