Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Delicious as made. I used homemade cheese sauce. Make the full amount of dough and halve the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made these tonight and they were very, very good. My Polish grandmother used to make them and give them to me frozen, but sadly, I never got her recipe before she passed away. So, a recipe called "Grandma's Polish Perogies" was just what I wanted! We did some with mashed cheddar potatoes (I used instant mashed, making them a LOT less work!), and some just filled with cottage cheese. Here is our addition to the process: instead of freezing them and then boiling them,I made them up fresh and cooked them in a skillet with butter and onions. (This is how I used to cook the frozen ones I'd get from Grandma. My husband LOVES them this way and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I picked up cooking from my mother and grandmother. I didn't really cook until I separated from my, now ex wife. So one day I was watching America's Worst Cooks. There was this woman, who made bologna cheese quesadillas for the chefs. Now I have been hungry drunk many times, and in no way does that sound good. She also stated that she used to be a model. After seeing what she made, I can see how she USED to be one. So, immediately after that, I used my allrecipes app and found this recipe. I went to the store. Bought everything I needed. And proceeded to make this terrfic and if you follow directions easy dish. I just made these for Christmas eve and they were a hit. I had family come up to me and say I should open a restaurant. I was so mad at that woman, I made them out of spite. Anyone who gave this recipe less than 5 stars should go buy ones at the store, because you obviously can't fallow directions or you suck at cooking. THUMBS UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
these were easy to make and my picky eaters loved them...I added different spices to the filling and I froze them before boiling and then fried in butter and they were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cjs
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
The dough for this recipe is really good. I ommited the processed cheese and also added some bacona and sauteed onions. I halved the potato amount and kept the cheese amount the same. I only made half the potatoes because I also wanted to make sausage and saurkraut perogies. They were wonderful. Definitely boil then fry in a generous amount of butter and more sauteed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My daughter and I made this for the dough only since I had a special cheese blend I made and they were fabulous, especially for a few beginners! I had to cut the recipe in half because I only had enough filling for half and it divided perfectly! Definitely a keeper and I will use this recipe again. Looking forward to making the potato filling next :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
The dough was good, but I will keep searching for a tastier filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Turned out great! Thanks for sharing this recipe. Definitely going to use this recipe again when I have the TIME :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This dough recipe just replaced my old one. I used the farmers cheese filling, but the dough was easy to put together and very original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
They were good but I ended up with WAY too much filling left over. Its very time consuming and honestly, they tasted like Mrs. T's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States