Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by lisajoy
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
It appears that these are a hit even with my picky eater .. the changes that I made are cutting the recipe in half and added a little cream to the potatoes while mashing. Once the perogies were boiled I laid them out on some paper towels to remove the excess water then fried them in a little butter and kept them in the oven to stay warm while browning the rest ( 425 Degrees ) .. I ended up with 30 perogies which I feel is plenty for a family of 4 ( still having some leftovers ) .. Will make again and add a few other touches to the mix .. perhaps some bacon as other have done or chives, garlic, a different kind of cheese, the possibilities are endless .. served with a caprese salad, sliced avocado and black olives on the side thanks for the recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
So beats the stuff you get in the freezer section! Takes a little time to master the technique, but soooo worth it. One bite and you will be hooked. Makes a ton and that even satisfies my big family. A definite keeper recipe! I plan to add this on my monthly rotation, because it is so worth the time and effort. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This recipe has become family favorite! Truly traditional and so very yummy!! Just make sure you make lots because you will. Run out quick! The only thing I do differently is add red peppers to the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
The perogies were really yummy. But the dough was tough to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Time consuming, but worth the effort! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Time consuming to make but worth the effort. I filled them with the Sauerkraut Filling for Perogies from this site and they came out perfect. Using a water glass to cut the dough this recipe made 35 perogies. I had the perfect amount of filling for all 35. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was my first time making perogies. These turned out AMAZING!!!! I needed to add an extra 1/2 cup of flour to the dough. To the potato mixture, I added crisp bacon, onion & garlic. This recipe made 40 perogies with a ton of the filling left over. My husband was eating the leftover filling out of the bowl it was so good! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This recipe was very good but I tweaked some stuff. Instead of fake cheese I used more cheddar cheese, milk, and butter for the mashed potatoes and then seasoned them with salt, pepper, and garlic. I also didn't freeze them before preparing or boil them. They went straight into the frying pan with some clarified butter. They were delicious and my boyfriend and I had fun shaping them together. Definitely worth a try. If you have another person to help than this won't take two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I used this recipe for the dough, inside i put mashed potatoes with caramelized onions and farmers cheese. They turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Usually the star of pierogi is the filling, however the addition of sour cream to the dough gives it a great flavor. Will be part of my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttsmom9103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States