Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This recipe is amazing, and definitely comes from someone who is authentically Polish. If anyone is attempting to look up this dish for more info the correct spelling is Pierogi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made the filling MY grandmother taught me. I use farmers cheese or sometimes it's called dry cottage cheese. It's alittle difficult to find sometimes but a store with a good cheese section will usually have it. This filling gets an egg yolk added to it and salt and pepper. I also top with sauteed onions and melted butter after they are boiled. If you wanted to boil them before you freeze them, place them gently into the boiling water and turn on the timer after they float to the top. Make sure the water isn't boiling too rapidly or some will definately break. It's nice to see such an old fashioned recipe getting such great use and reviews. Enjoy all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent! Awesome with this filling, and I'd like to try out different ones. A lot of work, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Milosch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
What a great recipe... and this dough is VERY forgiving! This was my first attempt at perogies, and I managed to churn out 6 dozen from this recipe in about three hours from start to freezer. I boiled one of the fresh ones up right away - and it was SO savoury and satisfying. I only changed a couple of small things - no processed cheese, double the shredded cheese, and used onion powder, the less processed cousin of onion salt. Thank you Steph!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Amazing! Really delicious! Made directly as instructed. The dough was easy to handle perfect to roll out. Made about 60 pierogies. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bohemiantrash45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good. the family and guests loved them. We did a potato, bacon, cheddar and jalapeno havarti filling, with garlic. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
yummy!!! filling I used is potatoes, cheddar cheese, bacon, onions and garlic (sauteed in the bacon grease). sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My dad is from Poland and he said they were very similar to what his mom (my grandma) used to make. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were so time consuming but I have no doubt they will turn out fantastic. I adjusted the recipe a bit as well, I used half whole wheat flour, used a tinge more oil, used instant potatoes (baby red's and buttery) and instead of mixing cheese into the potatoes I sprinkled shredded cheese on top before I folded over. I also rolled the finished perogie in garlic seasoning (before freezing) to give it a bit of a kick. I would definitely recommend using a fork to seal down and a double bonus you will get the imprint that you see in Mrs. T's. My grandmother used make these all the time and I've always loved them homemade. She would be so proud knowing I'm following in her footsteps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Better than Babcia's...This is a very yummy recipe. In the potatoe mix I added one large sauteed onion in 1 Tbsp of veg oil instead of onion salt and decreased the potatoes to 6. I also used Kraft melts- four cheese...It makes a good all-in-one substitute.Also when making perogies use a fork to make sure of a good seal of the dough.I strongly suggest after a 3 min boil to sautee the perogies until golden with added sauteed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States