Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
We used to make these with my grandmother before the Lent each year. If you have one- use a pasta machine or attachement on your mixer to roll out the dough to a thin but workable thickness. This will make it much easier! This recipe is fun with a group and freezes great, Mrs T's doesn't even come close to the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Thanks so much it was the very first time I have ever made perogies and this recipe not only made them a hit but also so simple to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This recipe is fabulous, but for those out there unfamiliar with Pierogi, they can be stuffed with precooked ground meat (typically beef)& onions, cabbage, sauerkraut, mushrooms, spinach, sweet cheese and even jelly for desserts (boil then fry, top with a little powdered sugar, mmmmm). The key is for the filling to be as dry as possible to avoid "soaking" the dough and as the author mentions, freezing before cooking. My favorite topping is a mix of bacon onion and mushroom for the dinner version, and the kraut and meat ones are terrific in beet soup (Barszcz).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Love this receipe. It took me about 2.5 hours not including cleaning up my mess. Very easy recipe to follow and they were delicious. I did add two T of sour cream, bacon, and green onion to my mashed potatoes before filling. I ended up with about 60 so probably should roll my dough a little thinner next time. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TulsaJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Q: How do you tell the tall, sweet Polish man in your life that you're secretly in love with him? A: Make him 12 dozen pierogies as a surprise while he's at work. Then, just to cinch the deal, make his family 12 more dozen for Christmas. His Great-Grandma passed away a couple of years ago, and with her took her pierogie recipe. I scoured the internet for a close replacement, and the "Grandma" part of this recipe caught my eye. Three years later I owe my wonderful, loving three-year relationship to "Grandma's Polish Pierogies". But enough about my personal life, let's discuss the recipe. As this was my first attempt to make pierogies, I left the dough as-is, and found it to be light, flaky and flavorful. The filling, however, is another story. I decided to get a bit creative with some (pesto/asiago, bacon/irish cheddar), while sticking with the tried-and-true recipes for the others. All-in-all I spent nine hours making these little delicacies, and it was worth every minute. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lourdez01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
By far, the best peroghy recipe I have found. The sour cream for the dough is the key!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe. I suggest making sure that you have 2 hours (or more) atleast to dedicated to this. Because it is important to let the potatos cool before filling the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Really time consuming, but delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These were so tasty, and made quite a lot!! I live in a house of twelve and it fed all of us comfortably. Instead of buying processed cheese sauce, I doubled the amount of grated cheddar and added in sliced green onions, garlic powder, and extra onion salt. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Best if browned in a little butter after boiling. Topped with sour cream and fresh chives. Good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States