Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These are great. I froze mine. Learned a big lesson. When you freeze them ,make sure there is plenty of flour on them. Also, it might be a good ideal to freeze separate on a cookie sheet first. Then put in bag. I didn't think to do this the first time. Ended up with a ball of stuck perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Hard to make and tasted like a clump of dry, hard potatoes :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These are awsome!!! I suggest using a perogie folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made this recipe for Easter - it was fabulous!! I wouldn't change a thing. The dough was so easy to work with. I did ue Cheddar Bacon cheese - and added a touch of horseradish to the potato mixture. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
As a child my great grandmother would make these. She would boil and freeze them, when I visited she would give me a bag to take home, they never made it home we would eat them cold on the way. I have tried to duplicate her recipe thru the years and there was always something missing. She didnt speak english and didnt write anything down. I have tried many many times. Part of the problem is getting them to not break open. I followed the dough recipe to a T it was the best dough I ever worked with. It rolled out beautifually, you needed to add about 1/4 cup of flour and then flour all the surfaces. It rolled out nice and thin like a dream. I made my own filling boiling peeled potoatoes, mashing them and adding only onions sauteed in a few sticks of butter. This is a true polish filling, I also did sauerkraut or "kapusta" drained sauerkraut in fried onions and butter until golden. Great for hot dogs too. The first batch made 25. I sealed the old fashioned way with a fork dipped in water to crimp the edges closed. they made up like a dream so easy. I made the fillings the day before. The batter size is small. Making another batch as we speak and will see if freezing first will prevent breakage. REALLY love the recipe. took less than an hour to fill 25. Not an all day project if you make fillings ahead. My grandmother also made a meat filling one. With ground burger and onions. LOVE the sauuerkraut. thanks for bringing this old favorite back. Great project to fill the freezer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
The dough is spot on, this matches the best I have ever had. Potatoes with gruyere and sauteed onions made an excellent filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were good and easier than I thought to put together, but I have to be honest and say I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Awesome. Never had perogies before. I halved the recipe and there were still left overs for two of us. I saute'd 1 1/2 onion (sliced) with 1 Tblsp minced garlic in 5 Tbls of butter. I then saute'd the perogies in the onion/butter mixture, then transferred all to a bowl. I tried them with sour cream, ketchup, & alfredo sauce, but over all I liked them plain (since they had butter and onions on them). My honey liked his with salsa and sour cream. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
It was my first time making these- I made my regular mashed potatoes as the filling- with margarine, sour cream, and an egg as well as lots of salt and pepper. As I was boiling the frozen perogies I sauteed a few strips of bacon and as the perogies came up to the top I added them to the bacon pan- they were delicious! Crispy on the outside and smooshy on the inside. I served them with turkey Kielbasa. The dough recipe is fantastic! I ran out of sour cream and had to add a little milk to replace it but I think it still came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Great perogies!! It's easy to get creative and make different fillings with this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States