Grandma's Polish Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
OMG!!! These were amazing!! For my first time making perogies, this was a fantastic recipe! It took me about three hours to do, so i think next time i would make the mashed potatoes the night before to save a little time, but otherwise, this was great recipe and relatively easy. Thank you for making my first perogy making experience a great one!! Probably the best compliment of all: my bf absolutely loved them...i had to boil/fry up a second batch that night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
never have i had better perogie dough..ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was the first time I made perogies, they were outstanding. I did not have on hand all-purpose flour and used bread flour, I don't think it could get any better. Grandma's perogies is a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These are lovely, sauteed with some onions, bacon and chilli and served with sour cream... delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I din't have any sour cream on hand but substituted yogurt and they came out fine. I browned onions and mixed that into my potato mash. SO delicious and worth all the effort! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariahsimone
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
One word, AMAZING! My boyfriend and I just ate these and they were so delicious, I could not believe that I cooked these. I made some with ground beef,garlic, and cheddar and some were potato,bacon, cheddar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariahsimone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love this recipe! My kids would eat perogies every day if I let them! Store bought are rather expensive when feeding lots of kids so we gave this a try. We made the dough and filling the day before and got to finish them up today. The dough was so nice to work with and easily the scraps worked back into the dough to roll out another batch. We followed the recipe exactly and only added some onion and garlic powder to the filling. We had an assembly line going - One to roll a portion of the dough, one to cut the circles, one for the filling, and 2 to crimp the edges. What a good time we had and have already planed the next batch! This is a very good recipe, it does take some work and there is a good bit of clean up involved but well worth the it to make these yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This recipe WORKS. The measurements are spot on, and the dough was the easiest to work with! I halved it and came out with 40 good sized perogies. I changed the filling to suit my tastes, adding a whole head of garlic and two tablespoons of dehydrated onion flakes to the boiling water for the potatoes, as well as a good bit of sea salt. When drained, I mashed the garlic and onion right in. I also added a bit of chopped fresh dill for bright flavor and color. I made the filling ahead so that it was room temp. when I assembled. I plan to boil them until they rise to the top, then fry them with onions in butter and serve with sour cream and chopped green onions. TIP: To close the rounds, wet the tip of your index finger, then moisten HALF of the circle only, then fold over and pinch with thumb and middle finger (your wet index finger will make it soggy...wet on wet or dry on dry doesn't work when it comes to dough). I was surprised how easy this recipe was, even though it was time consuming. Well worth it! You won't be sorry you tried this recipe! Thanks so much for a morning of (successful!) fun! (Edit: after getting rave reviews from everyone, I just had to come back and say how fabulous these tasted! One word: YUM!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have tried several perogie dough recipes and none of them beat this one. It is absolutely the best. We like our dough a bit thick and so I cut them out and fill them on the thick side. It is easy to work with and comes out great every single time. I do have to work the dough a lot with my hands after I mix all the wet ingredients in the flour, but it comes out soft and pliable. It is important to let it sit for the 15-20 min, and keep the dough you are not using covered until you are ready to roll it. I roll 1/4 of the dough at a time. If you like a sweet cheese filling, try 32 oz Ricotta cheese, 1 beaten egg and 3 Tablespoons white sugar. Mix well with fork and fill perogies and boil. Excellent. I make these cheese ones and also some potato/onion ones. I don't add cheese to my potato ones. I simply sautee lots of onions in veg oil and add them to my mashed potatoes, mix with fork and fill perogies. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
We really liked these. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Watch how to make breaded chicken with lemon-butter and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States