Grandma's Pear Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Great flavor and easy to make... I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I was looking for a Pear jam recipe, so after the pears cooked I used my handheld mixed and pureed the pears before adding the pectin. Great recipe. Yum! Although be prepared... it makes a big batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Very straight forward directions made this recipe easy to follow. The results are scrumptuous -- and I'm not a pear fan! I tried the receipe once yesterday (while I was canning various fruit from our yard). It was so good that I made a second batch! This is even good enough to include in the jam sampler basket I give to my kids' teachers as Christmas gifts. Thanks for sharing! This recipe is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I love this recipe! Reminds me a bit of old fashioned apple butter flavors.I ground fresh allspice and was worried it would be to pungent but it tempered after sitting a month Goes great with cream cheese on toasted bagels also on vanilla icecream. Thanx for sharing your Grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This recipe is great!! I had some pears from my Fathers pear tree and froze them. I thawed them, cut them up and made this recipe. I did alter it a bit (I always seem to be altering recipes). I did not have nutmeg so I used cinnamon. I also doubled the amount of cinnamon and Allspice. And I added more brown sugar. Made an amazing batch of Preserves. Tastes excellent. I got 7 1/2 pint jars and 2 pint jars. Two of the half pint jars are more liquid than the rest, does anyone know why this would be? Anyway I highly recommend this recipe. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I thought this recipe turned out excellent and is now my favorite recipe for pear preserves. I have canned a lot of pear preserves but decided to try a new recipe and found this one and I love it. It has a wonderful rich flavour and very easy to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Ive made this twice now. It has a magnificent taste, but mine also did not set right either time. I added extra pears the second time as I was left with syrup at the end. I am gonna make again and add an extra 1/2 pack at least of sure jell. I dont use liquid, not for any reason than Ive never trid it. I will suggest taking a jar of this and pouring over your ham (especially a sprial cut one)before you bake it pushing it the cracks of the meat. Excellent nice flavor. I will make this again and gave as gifts and everyone loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Hope this helps anyone,I followed the recipe. and everything was fine, so I thought I would let you know, I feel you must stir all the time after the simmering, and make sure it comes to a boil while stirring before finishing that step. I did have to let my pears coo more than the 10 minutes, I let them cook 20, because I wanted to be able to use a potato masher to cut then in to chucks. and they did not get soft enough till then, I then followed the recipe. making sure that I contuined to stir and the pears boiled, add the pectin and 1/2 tsp of butter, due to the box said to.(however my box was 1.75 oz of sure jell.) I then stirred until it came to a complete boil while stirring, ( I had my sugar, measured and in 1 bowl, and my brown sugar and spices( which I added 2 tsp cimnnamon because I like it.lol)in another bowl. poured in sugar and when it came back to a boil while still stirring set timer ro 1 minute. took off heat and poured brown sugar and spices in and contiuned to stir.I did keep my jars in the boiling water so they was hot when I put the pears in. put lids on and put back into the boiling water for 10 minutes. I have not tried them yet, but felt I would go ahead and do my review because taste was not a problem, Mine did not have a lot of juice and set fine, did make the amount stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This makes wonderful jam. I followed the recipe exactly as written. The jam set quickly and was perfectly spiced. It's great on a bagel with cream cheese, as suggested by another reviewer. It is also great on a peanut butter sandwich or by itself. Perhaps the other reviewers didn't let the jelly boil long enough after adding the pectin or sugar. That could make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I'll rate this at 5 stars because of the fantastic taste. It's a little too liquid, so, I'll add more pectin the next time around. The orignial 48 servings will yield 10 half-pint containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe the first time I've ever canned anything. I pureed the pears first cause I'm not fond of anything too chunky and then I fiddled slightly with the spice reducing the allspice and nutmeg by 1/2 a tsp and adding 1/2 a tsp each of ginger and cinnamon. The preserves smell wonderful and taste like christmas! They have a beautiful deep mahogany color. My only problem seems to be that my lids didn't seal. Will wait 24 hours and try to reprocess again if seals fail. I know alot of the reviews complained about it being too syrupy but I did not have the problem at all, cooled it seems to be the consistency of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States